Easy Vegetarian Spinach Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group 12/7/12. I used a 9x9 dish and thought using 6 noodles would help since others said it was a little shy on sauce and/or ricotta. After boiling the noodles (whole wheat), I cut off the ends and used those for the middle layer and they fit perfectly. I ended up adding a splash of milk to the ricotta just to make it easier to spread and needed to double the sauce. I used my colander over the pasta to steam the spinach but it didn't get as done as I'd like so I could only mix half into the cheese blend and then split the rest between each layer. Overall this was pretty good with those two changes in amounts. If using all nine noodles I would need even more sauce and more filling. We got 4 servings with no sides and probably would have gotten 6 if we'd had something else on the table, even with 2/3 the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Loved this recipe. It was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARAVILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Very good. The nutmeg went great with the dish. I never really care for it but for this dish I put in 2 dashes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Read reviews and doubled the ricotta, sauce, egg and mozzarella. Used no-bake noodles and 2 (10oz) boxes of frozen chopped spinach; which I zapped in the micro 4 to 5 minutes (to save time and use less utensils) and also squeezed out all the liquid from the spinach. Baked in a 9x13 pan, covered, 30 minutes; uncovered and baked and additional 10 minutes. Let sit 10 to 15 minutes before serving. TURNED OUT GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 01, December 2012 ~ I made a half batch of this lasagna as my husband is not a fan of spinach. As I was putting it together I did need quite a bit more spaghetti sauce. Since my husband is also not a huge fan of vegetarian main dishes, I did fix pork chops along with this. I know a weird combination. Well I served him a big piece of the lasagna along side of this pork chop. He questioned the odd combo, but I let him know I was accommodating his need for meat with a meal. Well, he ate the lasagna without any complaints, liked it, and had a second helping. MOTTSBELA that is a huge compliment! Aside from adding more sauce, this lasagna set up very well and held it shape on the plate. Since I know he will eat the spinach in this vegetarian dish, I most definitely will be making it again. Thanks MOTTSBELA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I thought it was great! Delicious & way easier than reg. lasagna! I substituted 1/2ricotta for low fat cottage cheese. 2 jars of sauce. One red one white. No nutmeg because of an allergy...and extra extra cheese! U can never have enough cheese in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This recipe is great! We use the No-Boil noodles to save time. This will be our 2nd time having it in a week :- D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BertnErdle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This was my first time trying to make lasagna and I'm so glad I tried this recipe first! So easy to make, my husband loved it and prep time was very short. The only thing is I wish I hadn't added the egg to the ricotta mixture before tasting how well seasoned it was, once I added the egg it was too late to taste to see if I had the spices/salt/pepper right. Although thats more a critique on me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Very easy to make. I added some fresh mozzarella in the layers. I would also recommend making at least 2 cups of sauce. I used frozen spinach and seasoned as if it were a side dish. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSLGAINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Really easy and really good. I used Francesca Rinaldi jarred sauce in the Sweet and Zesty Tomato flavor. I also added a layer of roasted red pepper once. Really delicious and perfect for a quick dinner in the middle of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States