Easy Vegetarian Spinach Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group 12/7/12. I used a 9x9 dish and thought using 6 noodles would help since others said it was a little shy on sauce and/or ricotta. After boiling the noodles (whole wheat), I cut off the ends and used those for the middle layer and they fit perfectly. I ended up adding a splash of milk to the ricotta just to make it easier to spread and needed to double the sauce. I used my colander over the pasta to steam the spinach but it didn't get as done as I'd like so I could only mix half into the cheese blend and then split the rest between each layer. Overall this was pretty good with those two changes in amounts. If using all nine noodles I would need even more sauce and more filling. We got 4 servings with no sides and probably would have gotten 6 if we'd had something else on the table, even with 2/3 the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Loved this recipe. It was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARAVILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Very good. The nutmeg went great with the dish. I never really care for it but for this dish I put in 2 dashes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Read reviews and doubled the ricotta, sauce, egg and mozzarella. Used no-bake noodles and 2 (10oz) boxes of frozen chopped spinach; which I zapped in the micro 4 to 5 minutes (to save time and use less utensils) and also squeezed out all the liquid from the spinach. Baked in a 9x13 pan, covered, 30 minutes; uncovered and baked and additional 10 minutes. Let sit 10 to 15 minutes before serving. TURNED OUT GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This is one of my kids favorites for taste and mine for simplicity. I keep 9 noodles but use use almost 2 jars or 1 family size jar of sauce (which I season up a bit to my taste). Plus I use 15 oz ricotta, the 2cup bag of mozzarella (1 cup for the mix and one cup to spread on top) and finally 2 boxes of frozen spinach, which I microwave and squeeze the moisture out of. It comes together super fast, feeds a large family, is vegetarian but filling, and I feel like all together, they are getting a pretty healthy meal out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 01, December 2012 ~ I made a half batch of this lasagna as my husband is not a fan of spinach. As I was putting it together I did need quite a bit more spaghetti sauce. Since my husband is also not a huge fan of vegetarian main dishes, I did fix pork chops along with this. I know a weird combination. Well I served him a big piece of the lasagna along side of this pork chop. He questioned the odd combo, but I let him know I was accommodating his need for meat with a meal. Well, he ate the lasagna without any complaints, liked it, and had a second helping. MOTTSBELA that is a huge compliment! Aside from adding more sauce, this lasagna set up very well and held it shape on the plate. Since I know he will eat the spinach in this vegetarian dish, I most definitely will be making it again. Thanks MOTTSBELA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This lasagne was very good, I made 5 individual portions instead of one large one. We are just 2 adults & 1 child so this way I used 3 and put 2 in the freezer for another day. I find this way we are not eating it for a week. The only changes I made to the recipe was to use 2 cups of pasta sauce instead of 1, there just wasn't enough in 1 cup, and I used 1/2 pack of frozen chopped spinach instead of fresh. Great recipe though, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I thought it was great! Delicious & way easier than reg. lasagna! I substituted 1/2ricotta for low fat cottage cheese. 2 jars of sauce. One red one white. No nutmeg because of an allergy...and extra extra cheese! U can never have enough cheese in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I Loved the flavors of this lasagna but the two layers weren't enough, I even added extra ricotta and cheese but still ran short.. Also 50 minutes was a bit long, mine was over cooked and I took it out 5 min early. I will definitely try this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I have made this numerous times and never did I have a complaint. So very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States