Easy Vegetarian Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I put the nutmeg in, just not as much. Tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This actually came out to be quite delicious. Basically its onion and celery fried in butter that is later turned into a roux using flour. Add a little veggie stock, corn, and seasonings to get a warm and flavorful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made this recipe today with some adjustments and got lots of compliments from my family. I omitted the celery, carrot and creamed corn. I used one bag of 32 oz. frozen yellow corn , a quarter cup red onion diced and one small Maui onion. I added a teaspoon salt instead of a pinch. I put the cooked soup in a blender for 30 seconds and reheated. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This was good. I omitted celery & carrots because I did not have any and used vegetable bouillon in place of stock. I also used whole milk instead of half-and-half, and 2% instead of skim, and added green chiles to spice it up. And omitted paprika based on other reviews. Came out great and was a hearty meal with some bread on the side, and even my non-vegetarian husband liked it (though he added some cooked ground turkey.) A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I felt the nutmeg added a nice flavor to this soup! I used fat free half and half and organic crispy canned corn. I originally thought there might be too much butter and flour, but tried it as is and it turned out great. I have a couple of suggestions regarding this recipe. First, it may be personal preference, but I sauteed the onion and celery until they were soft. Then, I removed the pan from heat while adding flour and whisked it with the butter and vegetables without cooking it for six minutes to avoid any kind of scorching. It really didn't need to be cooked for six more minutes since it developed into a thick paste and was ready to have the broth added. Whisk the broth in slowly and allow the soup to thicken while doing so. Overall, I really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
so delicious.. don't be afraid to add a lot more pepper, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I loved it. I added about two cups of potatoes because I love them in chowder, more carrots, thyme, garlic powder and a dash of dill instead of nutmeg. And used 1 can of evaporated milk instead of the other two because that is what I had. Had to cook longer because of the potatoes and extra carrots but other than that followed the cooking directions. The extra creamed corn gives it a nice sweetness. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is a great recipe for corn chowder. I really feel that the nutmeg is a necessary ingredient, it works really well in it. Though, I probably used a little less than the recipe called for. I left out the celery and used all milk instead of half-and-half (I just cooked it down a bit). I think this recipe would be even better with a little diced potato and more carrot. Also, don't be stingy with the black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I love this soup sooo much! I have been a vegetarian for roughly two years now. this soup is yummmy! I left out the onions due to the price, also left out the nutmeg. I added potatoes, and the next round of soup ill be adding sweet potatoes. Can't wait to get it cooking. it was easy enough to make and it for sure a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Just tried this recipe for a large gathering of family and friends. Doubled the recipe to feed everyone, and it was a big hit! Should have added some potatoes to thicken it, as others have suggested. Everyone loved it, and some had three bowls! Would have added some red pepper flakes for zing if just for me, but kept it mild to suit group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States