Easy Vegetarian Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
There is no review that can do this recipe justice! Its simply PERFECT... don't add or remove anything! I make this a few times a week and none of us get enough of it. Slice up some french bread and top it with oregano, garlic salt and cheddar/mozzarella (any cheese you like but i find the sharpness of cheddar really complements this recipe). Pop them in the oven till the cheese melts and the bread is crispy. Thanks for sharing this recipe Annette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I thought this soup was just ok. The nutmeg seemed out of place and I think it could use some potatoes. I also added some red pepper flakes after the soup was finished to spice it up. My husband enjoyed it with some green siratcha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Good basic recipe; quite flavourful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bee Dee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I put the nutmeg in, just not as much. Tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This actually came out to be quite delicious. Basically its onion and celery fried in butter that is later turned into a roux using flour. Add a little veggie stock, corn, and seasonings to get a warm and flavorful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made this recipe today with some adjustments and got lots of compliments from my family. I omitted the celery, carrot and creamed corn. I used one bag of 32 oz. frozen yellow corn , a quarter cup red onion diced and one small Maui onion. I added a teaspoon salt instead of a pinch. I put the cooked soup in a blender for 30 seconds and reheated. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This was good. I omitted celery & carrots because I did not have any and used vegetable bouillon in place of stock. I also used whole milk instead of half-and-half, and 2% instead of skim, and added green chiles to spice it up. And omitted paprika based on other reviews. Came out great and was a hearty meal with some bread on the side, and even my non-vegetarian husband liked it (though he added some cooked ground turkey.) A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I felt the nutmeg added a nice flavor to this soup! I used fat free half and half and organic crispy canned corn. I originally thought there might be too much butter and flour, but tried it as is and it turned out great. I have a couple of suggestions regarding this recipe. First, it may be personal preference, but I sauteed the onion and celery until they were soft. Then, I removed the pan from heat while adding flour and whisked it with the butter and vegetables without cooking it for six minutes to avoid any kind of scorching. It really didn't need to be cooked for six more minutes since it developed into a thick paste and was ready to have the broth added. Whisk the broth in slowly and allow the soup to thicken while doing so. Overall, I really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
so delicious.. don't be afraid to add a lot more pepper, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I loved it. I added about two cups of potatoes because I love them in chowder, more carrots, thyme, garlic powder and a dash of dill instead of nutmeg. And used 1 can of evaporated milk instead of the other two because that is what I had. Had to cook longer because of the potatoes and extra carrots but other than that followed the cooking directions. The extra creamed corn gives it a nice sweetness. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States