Easy Vegetable Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Great basic recipe!! Made changes based on the fact that it was a "I'm not going to the grocery store Sunday". Used what I had on hand to clean out the fridge. Took a very small piece of country ham, diced very small and put into large cast iron soup pot, sautéed for a few minutes and then added the cubed potatoes and half a chopped onion, for about 5 minutes. Added only 24 oz of V8 and a cup of water for a thicker soup. Thawed a bag of frozen mixed veggies, added to pot, along with a 14.5 can of fire roasted tomatoes, Mrs. Dash, Lemon Pepper, and just a pinch of salt. Cooked for 25 minutes, than added 2 cans of drained navy beans (only beans I had) during last 5 minutes, so beans would not get mushey. Served with super thin slices of baked garlic bread. My husband and I both LOVED it...it's a keeper...hope I can remember what I did for next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This is such a great quick & easy soup! Even my picky kids ate it. I used a can of diced potatoes in lieu of fresh (quicker) and I added salt-free spicy seasoning (McCormick). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I used low sodium V-8, added a bay leaf and hot sauce to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Easy and delicious. As a vegetarian, I am thrilled to see meat-free vegetable soups that are a family favorite. I added dill and replaced regular potatoes with small red/new potatoes. They took only a couple of minutes to chop so it made for an additional time saver. Finally, I topped with freshly grated parmesan. My meat-loving husband loved it and my toddler enjoyed her very own cooled version as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
very bland, but healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This is the simplest homemade vegetable soup I have ever made!! I didn't tell the kids it had V8 juice in it and they loved it!! It has become a family favorite and an easy way to get veggies into our diet! The kids now know it has V8 juice in it - but they love it so much they got over it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This hits the spot on a cold wet night! I add some ground turkey to it to make it a bit more hardy and it is wonderful! It also works great for my schedule. Which I don't have that much time and I get home fairly late so I don't want to keep my husband waiting too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carebear05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I used this recipe for a church fund-raising event. Very quick and easy to make. It was a huge success! The only change I made was to add some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This was great with a few personal changes. I did not add the tomatoes with green chiles, and since I used Libby's brand mixed veggies I didn't have to add potatoes. Easy! And I liked it best when it had only been heated through just to temperature. The flavor of the V8 was retained better that way. Thank you for a great idea. This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Very Easy and Very Good!! My boyfriend LOVED it! It made soup for a week! Will definetly make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States