Easy Vegetable Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Taylor M. Murphy
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I used Chunky Potato Cheddar Bacon soup and a can of mixed veggies and added a pat of butter, along with thyme and sage. Very good and hearty! I can see experimenting with any creamed soup or maybe even a Corn Chowder next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor M. Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
My husband is a vegetarian. It's hard to find refreshing new things that don't involve pasta, rice or beans! He absolutely LOVED this and asked for it once a week during the winter season... that is rare! I did make a couple of modifications. I added a half a can of cream of mushroom and some Morning Star Crumblers! Even our children loved it! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This was okay, but too bland. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Use way less thyme next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I pre baked the pie shell for 7 minutes, sauteed crimini mushrooms and blot them dry and added it to the mixture. I then added a little garlic powder along with minced onion (optional for the onions). My family LOVES this so much, that it's become our fall/winter favorite comfort food dish!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Excellent pot pie. Used the suggestion of others to bake the bottom crust for 10 minutes before filling. Thawed a bag of frozen mixed vegetables and added a can of creamed corn instead of using the milk. Otherwise followed the rest as instructed. We loved this. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I had always been hesitant to try making a pie like this cause I thought it would take forever. This was so easy and so good, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xCestlavie
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I have made this recipe several times since first trying it out and it has been a big hit with vegetarians and meat lovers alike. I use puff pastry to create a top crust only pot pie, and the magic number seems to be 400 degrees for puff pastry. A sheet cut to size, laid over the top and slit to steam baked at 40 minutes will be lightly brown. I will leave it in a bit longer and peek at it until I get a nice golden brown on the crust. The filling is creamy and delicious, I steam frozen vegetables until tender while mixing the potato soup base and then add the vegetables to the base to season and finish cooking through to let all of the flavors blend together. My secret to making this dish universally loved by meat lovers is to use rotisserie chicken seasoning and a bit of pepper. This gives the pie a distinct similarity to a regular chicken pot pie while still remaining vegetarian friendly! Because I use puff pastry to make this extra decadent, I do recommend letting the filling cool before laying over your top crust to keep the pastry from being doughy in the center. Cooling the filling allows the pastry to puff correctly in the oven! I have used cauliflower, broccoli, carrots, peas and corn for a hearty vegetable filling. I even added red peppers once for a twist. This is so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xCestlavie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mdurham44
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I made this! So quick and easy! Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
It's delicious and easy to cook. My dad liked it, even though he usually hates all things vegetarian. Next time, I will make several smaller pies and freeze them individually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States