Easy Vegetable Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I pre baked the pie shell for 7 minutes, sauteed crimini mushrooms and blot them dry and added it to the mixture. I then added a little garlic powder along with minced onion (optional for the onions). My family LOVES this so much, that it's become our fall/winter favorite comfort food dish!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Excellent pot pie. Used the suggestion of others to bake the bottom crust for 10 minutes before filling. Thawed a bag of frozen mixed vegetables and added a can of creamed corn instead of using the milk. Otherwise followed the rest as instructed. We loved this. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I had always been hesitant to try making a pie like this cause I thought it would take forever. This was so easy and so good, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xCestlavie
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I have made this recipe several times since first trying it out and it has been a big hit with vegetarians and meat lovers alike. I use puff pastry to create a top crust only pot pie, and the magic number seems to be 400 degrees for puff pastry. A sheet cut to size, laid over the top and slit to steam baked at 40 minutes will be lightly brown. I will leave it in a bit longer and peek at it until I get a nice golden brown on the crust. The filling is creamy and delicious, I steam frozen vegetables until tender while mixing the potato soup base and then add the vegetables to the base to season and finish cooking through to let all of the flavors blend together. My secret to making this dish universally loved by meat lovers is to use rotisserie chicken seasoning and a bit of pepper. This gives the pie a distinct similarity to a regular chicken pot pie while still remaining vegetarian friendly! Because I use puff pastry to make this extra decadent, I do recommend letting the filling cool before laying over your top crust to keep the pastry from being doughy in the center. Cooling the filling allows the pastry to puff correctly in the oven! I have used cauliflower, broccoli, carrots, peas and corn for a hearty vegetable filling. I even added red peppers once for a twist. This is so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xCestlavie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mdurham44
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I made this! So quick and easy! Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
It's delicious and easy to cook. My dad liked it, even though he usually hates all things vegetarian. Next time, I will make several smaller pies and freeze them individually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Wow, we all had seconds, even my daughter who is in an "I hate all vegetables!" phase loved it so much she asked for it every night. I made a few alterations based on other reviews, and my own personal tastes. I used a homemade crust, half the amount of milk, half the amount of pepper, and instead of thyme I used a good sprinkling of garlic powder, seasoned salt, and Krogers Zesty Seasoning Blend. I also baked the pie for closer to 45 minutes, and it came out perfect and delicious, we will definitely have this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmin Souza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Felton, California, USA
Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This was my first time making/eating a veggie pot pie. The store did not have cream of potato so I substituted for cream of mushroom. I also did not use the egg. The final result was tasty! It's not packed with flavour however, but good enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerChick01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I'm giving it 4 stars on how easy it is to make; I'm sure I will make this again, but with some modifications. The amount of pepper needs to be cut in half, and possibly the thyme as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Husband and daughters love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States