Easy Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by livnlife
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made a few adds to make this soup have some more flavor. I added some chopped celery,chopped red bell pepper,a packet of onion soup mix and only 2 of the beef bouillon cubes, also a bay leaf. Always gotta have a bay leaf in your veggie soup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livnlife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this recipe (as everyone should before they rate). It was quick, inexpensive and delicious. It does make a lot of soup, so it's good for family gatherings. I was able to take a container full to my in-laws. I had never made vegetable soup before. It was so easy. I will definitely make it again...perfect for a long, tiring day after work. Now having said that, next time I will try using beef broth just out of curiosity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Loved it!! Very easy and my boyfriend ate it up (he's not a big vegetable fan.). I used canned fire roasted tomatoes. I might also try ground turkey next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Very good start. I like a thicker consistancy, so I recommend making a rue with some of the meat fat or butter and flour in the beginning or brown gravy mix with a little hot water 'til smooth and adding to the pot. I seasoned some cubed steak (elk) and seasoned it with salt and pepper, then sauted with with the onions and a couple cloves of minced garlic. This was a great way to use up leftover boiled potatoes or those nasty frozen mixed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Listerud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Super easy recipe! I think I cut my potatoes too big though, because even after 45 minutes, they were pretty firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
A very easy recipe that is just plain, old, good, home cooking. You could easily tweak this to your likings. I made it, exactly as the recipe called for, and found it a comforting meal on a cold night. Nothing fancy, just good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Love this basic recipe. To make it my own, I added 1 clove diced garlic and 1 TBSP. Worcestershire while browning the beef and onion together. Instead of the beef bullion, I used 4 C beef broth and 4 cups water. It was so good, the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is a great recipe. I did adjust and add to this only because I had ingredients on hand. I added a can of rotel instead of canned tomatoes, one small can of tomato sauce and Lipton onion soup mix. I also added worchestire sauce to taste. I precooked potatoes half way and heated water and mixed in beef bouillon cubes. I put all ingredients in slow cooker for about 4 hours. Wow, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I gave this a four because there was way too many veggies (16oz bag) in this soup. I used beef broth instead of water and deglazed the pan that I browned the beef in with wine - I substituted 1 cup elbow noodles for the potatoes and used a can of diced tomatoes w/garlic, oregano and basil. Next time I'll use fresh veggies instead of the frozen - the frozen kind of defeats the purpose of homemade, but good in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I've made this twice now and turned out very good and my family likes it alot. My mother already wants the recipe. I used ground turkey for health reasons and like another reviewer used tomatoe paste to thicken, used mostly beef broth, added a little italian seasoning and a pinch of cayanne to give it a little more flavor. Delicious with biscuits and easy to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States