Easy Vegan Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
I liked this recipe. This is the first homemade tomato sauce i've attempted. I did puree it afterwards and it thickened up. It's easy and you can add what you like to adjust taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I made this while babysitting one night. The parents had left some nasty frozen chicken strips for me to make and I just couldn't feed them such junk. Both girls just loved this! I left out the onion (cuz they didn't have one), but other than that I stuck to the recipe. I can't wait to make this for my fiance'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I made this recipe because I'm vegetarian and wanted to use up tomatoes from my neighbor. I thought I would make it and freeze it. But, it was so good that I ate some as soon as it was done. This will not make it to the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Thank you for this recipe i tried it tongiht it was a sucess with the family. i blended once cooked this made a nice thick sauce and then fried up some courgettes and bits to mix in dished up with pasta and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This was really good! We will make it many more time. My husband wants to make a bruschetta out of it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jnboyack
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Some of the best sauce I've had in awhile, and very simple to make. I sub'd 1 serrano pepper diced for 1 small green bell pepper diced which kicked up the heat a bit and made for quite a delicious meal. Spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnboyack

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
The sauce was great!! We used a large can of stewed tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes since that's what we had. We also blended the sauce at the end instead of leaving it chunky. Oh and we used 3 cloves of garlic since we like garlic :). We'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This was pretty good sauce. I let the green pepper out as I don't like the flavor, but everything else I kept in. I simmered this for a bit longer than 20 minutes to get it thick, but the flavor turned out pretty tasty served over wagon wheels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is a great recipe! I used canola oil instead of vegetable oil, double the garlic because I love it, a little extra tomato and fresh basil and oregano instead of dried. I also added about a cup of diced baby bella mushrooms and sauteed them with the onions and garlic. I blended the sauce in my food processor after cooking for a while which thickened it up. So yummy and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
FANTASTIC! I strongly dislike tomatoes and onions, but needed to use up the ones I had received in my weekly co-op. I followed the recipe exactly except I substituted 1 tbsp fresh basil for the dried. I pureed the sauce after it had simmered for awhile and the result was truly the best pasta sauce I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States