Easy Valentine Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2000
Very easy to make and the taste is great. But be sure to place cookie at least 1 inch away from each other, they really "grow" during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
I made this recipe, and I was just hoping that it would finally be a "good" one. Then, I made them, and they were so good. These were the first cut-out cookies I have made that didn't even need icing to taste good! I think that my favorite part was that you didn't have to chill them first, no wasted time until they were finished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
I made these for V-day this weekend and wrapped them individually for all of the members of my family. This is a good sugar cookie recipe because you don't have to wait for dough to chill. I only rated it as a 3 in easy and quick category because it is a little time-consuming to cut out and you have to be careful when cutting out the "inside" heart....when you pick up the remainder "outside", it is easy to tear it, so you have to take your time. Also, I only came up with about 12-13 cookies each time I made it, so maybe my cookie cutter was bigger...they made super looking cookies, though. I frosted it pink on the "under" layer. Top layer I frosted white and sprinkled with red, and then I assembled them. I also wonder if a raspberry/strawberry preserve could be used...it would be very pretty for the "under" layer, but I wonder if it would soak into the cookie and make it soggy?? Don't let my comments scare you, though....this was a very good cookie and cute recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
I tried the recipe with jam instead of frosting and it worked. I put the top cookie on the bottom one, filled the cut-out space with raspberry jam, and baked it all together... took them to work, and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
This is great - the dough is not sticky and is very easy to roll out even at room temperature - this recipe was a real joy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
These are so pretty! I had to use a different frosting because the one suggested didn't work for me. I brought them to work and didn't want anyone to eat them because they look so CUTE! Oh..and they taste good too..not too sweet ..great with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHMARGI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
Delicious Recipe! I made this for my boyfriend for Valentines Day and he loved it! I frosted some, and pressed in colored sugar in the others. They're especially good if you roll them out thin and bake them until they are a golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
These were the HIT of our Homeschool Group's Valentine's day party! I received more compliments than I can remember. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
I have been looking for a good tasting and easy to make cut-out recipe for at least the past 5 years, I have FINALLY found it!! I never found a recipe that produced consistent results until now-this recipe was perfect: easy to mix up, handles well and the flavor and texture of the cookie is wonderful. I haven't even frosted them yet and half the batch is gone-we have all been enjoying them! What a great recipe, thanks so much for sharing. Thanks to you, I will finally have made cute and EDIBLE cut-outs for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
Great, texture and taste. Very easy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States