Easy Valentine Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This recipe was so easy! I made it for my boyfriend in the Army and he loved it! Everyone was so impressed they thought I had purchased it rather than made it. I used a white frosting and put red food coloring in it. I couldn't get a red color but it came out dark pink. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
These turned out well. They were not the best cookies I have ever had, but my siblings had lots of fun decorating them. The dough was easy to work with. I only got 12 cookies from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This is my new favorite cookies recipe!! They were outstanding! I did not make them into sandwich cookies, but I did make them into heart cutouts and sprinkled them with colored sugar before baking. The recipe seemed to make a lot so I still have 1/3 of the dough in the freezer and will make shamrock cookies soon for St. Patrick's Day. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 2Yung2Cook
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
This is such a good basic sugar cookie recipe! Everyone absolutely LOVED them! The plain sugar cookie was out of this world, and as sandwiches it was pretty ok -- i rly would suggest using raspberry preseves instead of the frosting, or at least mixing a lot fo the preserves with the frosting. It makes it taste sooo good. My cookies were HUGE, but it was ok, because they tasted so good! Using the size cookie cutter suggested would be a good idea though. These really dont need to be made into sandwiches - i find them rly good when spread with melted chocolate, and then aloow that to harden as a form of icing. Delicious!!!! The dough needs to be refrigerated, and if it starts to rip when u roll it out (in confectioners sugar, yum), it means ur probly rolling them too thin, so stop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This is by far, the most successful cut-out cookie recipe for me! This recipe makes delicious and professional looking cookies. One suggestion is keep the portion of the dough, that you are not currently working with, well chilled. I was generous with the use of flour on my rolling pin and mat without drying out the dough. I will keep this recipe as my one-and-only cut-out cookie recipe. YUMMY !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Mook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Valley Lee, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I've made these several times and always get comments on them. I've used both the frosting recipe and store bought whipped cream frosting (preferred). These cookies are yummy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Would never make this recipe again. Very dry and falling apart.Thumbs Down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna's Cook'in

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Estevan, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
We loved the flavor of the cookies, but the sandwich part was more work than it was worth. They were tasty just as plain ol' sugar cookies. Yummy cookie cut-out recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Great basic cookie recipe! And the cookies look professionally made. The powdered sugar makes for a smooth, light consistency. Not the easiest or quickest recipe -- made them the night before my daughter's class party. The dough was a little dry and tough to roll. Used store-bought icing tinted pink and drizzled decorator icing from a tube on the tops. Omitted the almond extract -- still great. I had no problem getting 20 cookies out of this recipe by incorporating the small heart cutouts back into the dough. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I made a double batch for my daughter's first grade Valentine's day party. These cookies are delicious all by themselves. I used store bought frosting and tinted it pink as someone else suggested. The frosting is just a bonus to a REALLY good cookie. I did have to refrigerate the dough to work with it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA DEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States