Easy Valentine Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I was very dissapointed with this recipe. I followed it exactly, and used confectioner's sugar instead of flour to roll it out. The dough was absolutely delectable, but the finished cookie didn't have a great taste, was very brittle, and spread a lot during baking, making the cutout tops unusable because the shapes were all messed up and didn't look like hearts anymore at all. I much prefer the Best Rolled Sugar Cookies recipe from this site which I made at Christmas, they cut out beautifully and retained their shape while cooking, also have a better taste and not such a crispy/brittle texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This is one of the best-tasting roll out cookie recipes I have ever made. . . my co-workers and family loved them, they were gone by the end of the day! I would chill the dough before rolling for an easier time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These tasted fine and rolled out easily enough but did not hold their shape. I doubled the recipe (exactly) and believe 2 teasp soda/cr of tartar was too much! They were cake-like. If you are looking for clean cut-outs to decorate, choose something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This is indeed a great sugar cookie recipe. BEWARE though, the icing recipe is too salty.. only add 1/8 tsp rather than 1/2.. i'm not even sure you need salt. It was easy to prepare.. make sure your dough is cold before rolling out to cut. (a couple of hours in the fridge beforehand)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I liked the flavor of this cookie. However it was a bit difficult to work with and I've been making cookies for 50 years! I did not make the sandwich because I didn't get 17 of each cookie as the recipe stated. So I melted some German chocolate and dipped each cookie in on one side. I put red food coloring in the batter so the pink cookie with a chocolate edge was perfect for a valentine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I have been searching for a while now for a cookie that my mum use to make for me to bring to school for valentines day. To make the cookie more like hers, I omitted the icing and used seedless raspberry jam and then afterwards drizzled have of them with white chocolate. I'm not sure if anyone else has suggested this....but instead of trying to fight to get the cookies up and keeping there shape, roll the dough out on parchment paper...cut...remove excess dough then put in the oven on a cookie sheet! Definelty will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
We made these cookies in Christmas shapes as Christmas gifts, and they were great! I was afraid the almond extract would make them taste funny (since it was an unfamiliar smell) but it gave them a nice sweet taste and I'm really glad I didn't omit it. They're a very crisp cookie, and be sure not to let the baking paper (we used parchment) bunch up on the sides of the cookie sheets, as it might cause the cookies to bake in weird shapes. Also, we used powdered sugar to roll them out with, and it made a nice sweet dusting on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
These are so good! I make these sugar cookies year-round and frost with any kind of store-bought frosting. I like the heart cut-out idea too. They make cute edible Valentines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Yummy cookie, one I'll be making to send to a friend in Iraq...for those who are looking to make the frosting red, I'd suggest using gel coloring instead of the food coloring you use to dye eggs--the gel stuff will not make the frosting runny and will produce a much more intense coloring with just a tiny amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Grange, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Yummy. Make sure the dough is refrigerated, or else it's too hard to work with. I used both fruit preserve and frosting, and preferred the fruit preserve on the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States