Easy Valentine Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This is a definite 5 star recipe! I substituted 2 teaspoons of lemon juice for cream of tartar as I didn't have any. Also, I was low on butter so I used 1 stick of butter and 1/2 cup of butter flavored shortening. I rolled the dough between two sheets of parchment paper and cut the cookies out and placed them on a cookie sheet. I made half as sandwich cookies and the other half as plain sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
These are the best sugar cookies I've ever had! Very soft and buttery. I use them year round for any occasion that calls for iced sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is the best cookie ever!!! I have gotten rave reviews everytime I make them. My sister took some to work and now some of her co-workers are ORDERING them from me for the holidays. Last Valentine's Day I had orders for 18 doz of these cookies. They are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEELIE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Excellent cookie!! I've made them as hearts and shamrocks so far. I get requests for these all the time now...they just melt in your mouth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I followed suggestions and just used more vanilla extract. I also used raspberry jam as the filling, not icing. Overall a great cookie, not too sweet. Everyone loved them. I also used the dough recipe for hamantaschen at Purim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was a GREAT recipe!!! I used it to make Easter cookies (just different shapes than hearts). I also found the dough to be a little tough to work with, but took others' advice and worked flour into it when I rolled it out, then used powdered sugar with the second batch. I also used a powdered sugar/lime juice/milk glaze and sprinkled colored sugar crystals on top! I would have posted a picture but the cookies disappeared too fast!! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTENW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I also made it the other frosting suggested. I loved these and these cookies were a big hit!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackbeltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I used : -powdered sugar to roll it out, making the dough a lot sweeter by the end. -marshmallow fluff with red food gel to make a pink filling under the stawberry jam. -the "royal icing I" from this site to make the streaks on top. -he rest of the icing (pink by mixing in red gel) on the small cookies. Didn't have to refrigerate the dough at all. I did find though that the small cutout hearts were too flimsy to pull out and then cook. I rolled them back in and cut them over again. These were a terrific v-day gift for my son's preschool teachers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Way to sticky to make any cutouts. Instead I just made them like drop cookie and my husband really liked them. I even added some chocolate chips in about half and they were just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
These were awesome!!! I will be making these every year! Used seedless raspberry jam for the filling and rolled out the dough between parchment paper (which I left the cutouts on and slipped onto the cookie). No need to chill the dough using parchment paper either. Professional looking cookies. Thanks much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Rotterdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States