Easy Valentine Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Best sugar cookie recipe ever! Have been making them for years now, no modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I think the trick is in the confectioner's sugar. Flakey and delicious cookies. I used confectioner's sugar when I rolled them out, instead of flour. I used lemon extract instead of almond (in case of allergies). Next time I would use more lemon extract because it was hard to taste in the cookies. (its not as strong as almond extract tho. Next time I would probably just squeeze a lemon in there if I had one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I made these for Valentines day and just looked up the recipe to have it ready for Easter. They are INCREDIBLE. I filled them with raspberry jam and drizzled chocolate ganache across the tops. My family thought they came from a bakery. If you like a softer cookie keeping them covered or in a plastic bag will soften them up. Make these if you want to get rave reviews, but set aside a little time, they are time consuming, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Matawan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
My son has requested these again and again. Him and his roomates love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honor Ross
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
First of all, these are NOT EASY. They are complicated. But, the results are very yummy and pretty. Very rich also. They were given LOTS of complements at my Valentines party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honor Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I omitted the almond extract and used 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract instead. I chilled the dough for 2 hours before cutting out hearts with star-shaped centers. The cookies do spread quite a bit in the oven so make sure to place them far apart on the cookie sheet. I made my cookies larger so I ended up baking them for about 10-12 minutes. I spread strawberry jam on half the cookies and sprinkled confectioners' sugar on the other half before sticking them together to make a sandwich. The cookies look so pretty and taste wonderful. Perfect for Valentine's Day! I will definitely be using this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
These cookies are amazing!!! I took some tips from the reviews. Rolling the dough with sugar was very helpful. Thanks! Took them to work and they were a hit. All my co-workers raved about them. Will use again very soon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TomJohn43
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
These were soooo Good! I did take some of the suggestions given. I chilled the douch for a little bit first. I also stuck to two cookies together with red rasberry jam but before I stuck them together I dusted the top cookie with powdered sugar first. They came out professional looking, and I am definetely not a "cook". But I do "eat" and I was quite pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I made these the other day for my daughter's Valentine party. I loved how easy it is to work with this dough. The cookie has a nice texture as well. We did not fill them we just frosted them and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaMiaItalia
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Cookies are good but I had to add more flour and cook them for 13 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaMiaItalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States