Easy Valentine Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I ended up not following the directions because my cookie cutters were the wrong sizes, but just made plain old hearts for my son's school party. They were great! Very good basic cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
These cookies are great! I have made these for several school valentine parties. I use the two heart cut-outs and fill the sandwich with a generous amount of homemade buttercream frosting (colored pink) They look and taste wonderful! I don't decorate the cookie because the pink buttercream looks nice with the light golden cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinnken
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
These cookies are great! I've made them 3 times now. I usually roll out the dough between 2 sheets of wax paper (when it's still room temperature) and then chill it for 10 minutes, then the cookies cut out perfectly. I also just re-work the small hearts into the dough instead of baking and serving separately. For the filling, I used 2 parts strawberry jam mixed with 1 part icing, and then regular icing on top. Delicious and beautiful cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tracey
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
thanks for the recipe. I only wish I made more frosting! I had to get creative with the rest...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by vacosta
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Tasted yummy and dough was pretty easy to work with until it got to room temp, where it became sticky. This was my first time making cut-out cookies and I had no trouble. Recipe definitely works well with chilled dough. Definitely recommended :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by raggedribbons
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
i've used different cut out sugar cookie recipes before, and this is the best recipe i've ever used. i worked colored sugar into the dough and alternated using strawberry jam and prepackaged cookie frosting to sandwich the cookies. i kept it refrigerated for a few days until i had time to roll it out and i had no problems with the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raggedribbons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These cookies are great and look very dramatic. I used seedless raspberry preserves on the bottom cookie and dusted the top cookies with powdered sugar before putting them together so the powdered sugar would not get on the jelly centers. These rolled out easily for me, I didn't even bother to put the dough back in the fridge between batches. I used powdered sugar to roll them out on a sheet of parchment paper and baked them on parchment paper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
First, let me say my review is based on the dough, only. My son and I made the dough to use for cut-out sugar cookies. That being said, this is THE BEST recipe I have EVER used. I attempt sugar cookies at Christmas every year, and this year, I found success! I made very few changes. I used the full amount of vanilla plus a full tsp of almond extract. I have used the dough both chilled and unchilled, and it is easier to roll if chilled first. Still, I only chilled it about 45 minutes, and it never went back into the fridge after that, but was still a dream to work with. I used powdered sugar to roll it out, and greased my cookie sheets. Exactly 6 minutes worked perfectly in my oven. This recipe is so good that my son and I are making them again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Okarche, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
These cookies are delicious!!! I, however, did not use the frosting center, I put heated raspberry jam in between the cookies and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This dough is comparable to chocolate chip cookie dough when not baked. I repeatedly tried to roll the chilled dough out but it always got stuck, even with wax paper. What finally worked for me was chilling the dough, pulling out and rolling 1/4 in thick between two wax sheets, chilling the dough again for an additional 3-5 minutes and then finally cutting out and transferring to the cookie sheet. I was literally making cookies for 3 hours because I had to constantly chill the dough and could only make 6 cookies at a time (3 whole cookies). Now to rate the actual cookie itself. I'm only halfway fond of this cookie. I used jam in place of the frosting and maybe that's what the problem is, but I was trying to do a nut-free (type of) linzer cookie. Maybe my efforts failed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyOfMarine

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States