Easy Valentine Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarkestStar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
I consider myself a cookie connoisseur, and this recipe is fabulous! There is no need to refrigerate the dough if you roll it between two pieces of parchment paper. I've had great success using different flavourings in the icing, such as raspberry, amaretto, irish cream, etc., instead of vanilla. I've also used cream instead of water to make the icing. You can be really creative with using different coloured icings and various cookie cutter shapes. Any time I've brought these cookies to a baby shower or wedding shower, they have been raved about. Soon, I plan on using a palm tree shaped cutter with pina colada flavoured icing for my next beach theme wedding shower. Can't wait to bake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
i didnt have the right cutters so i just made them circles, and they were delicious. very mild and just a good basic cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Excellent,Excellent!!! I used previous advice and chilled the dough. I made single cookies for St. Patties Day. The first batch puffed up and did not keep their shape well. I then made cut outs and put them on cookie sheet and refrigerated again for at least 10 minutes before baking and they retained their shapes much better. I thought the dough was very easy to work with and used 10X sugar instead of flour for rolling out. This is my new recipe for cut out cookies. Fantastic recipe Laria! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
I made over 400 Valentine Sandwich cookies for my dessert business clients this year using this recipe. I personally don't like crisp/cut-out sugar cookies, but everyone went NUTS over these cookies. My niece has me make them for softball games, parties, etc.--she loves them. After making so many of these, I can offer a few suggestions: (1) refrigerate dough for 2-3 hours (I made over 30 batches of dough & often let it refrigerate overnight). I always put the dough back in the refrigerator between batches. (2) I used 2 tsp of vanilla & eliminated the almond extract. (2) When I rolled out the dough, I used confectioners' sugar (10X) NOT flour--I even re-used previously roll-out dough without any problems. The confectioners' sugar gives the cookie a little extra flakiness. (3) I sprinkled colored sugar on the cookie with the cut-out section before baking-the colored sugar looks nice with the contrast of the frosting coming through the cut-out. (4) I baked the cookies on Silpat, but parchment would work too. (5)I used a different frosting: 2 cups confectioners' sugar (10X), 3/4 tsp vanilla and 4-6 tbsp half & half or whole milk, plus food coloring. The frosting was always a big hit. (6) I individually bagged the cookies in cellophane cookie bags & everyone commented on how freshed they stayed. I will be using this recipe for St. Patrick's with shamrock cookie cutters; green sugar & green frosting! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
I made these to take to the office for V-Day - they got rave reviews from everyone and disappeared very quickly. I used seedless raspberry jam instead of frosting - it was delicious. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
As far as cookies go, I prefer drop cookies (much easier!) but for quick cutouts, these worked rather well. The frosting / sandwiching took a while for me, but that's my own doing, not the recipe's fault. I second the warning to put space between the cookies if you make them 1/4" thick, because they will poof up and out a bit and will stick together. Strong recommendation is to place dough between parchment paper for rolling, and then it's easy to simply cut out the shapes, pull off the excess, and move the parchment paper onto the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I made these cookies for Christmas. I used a fluted round cookie cutter instead of a heart. I also used seedless raspberry jam instead of frosting. Everyone at home and at work loved these cookies. I will be making them on a regular basis from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
I found this recipe to be harder than I thought. The dough was very hard to work with, it kept sticking and it was hard to transfer the shapes to the cookie pan. I had to refrigerate it for an hour or two before I was able to work with it. However, these cookies are very yummy and turned out great, but I wouldn't put the effort into making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
I don't know how anyone can say you could work with this dough at room temperature. I had to refrigerate it for over an hour before I could roll it out without sticking. Other than that, they were a big hit at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States