Easy Turkey Tetrazzini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I changed the recipe a little and added fresh onion and minced garlic to the mushrooms and used smart balance instead of butter. I also added a cup of sharp white cheddar cheese to the mixture. I also used one can of cream of mushroom and one can of cream of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I thought this was great and my son liked it also. I didn't add mushroom (he doesn't like those, and would spend half the time picking them out) but I did saute some onions, celery and garlic and add a little bit of red pepper flakes. And I should have pammed the dish a little or mixed it up better. But I would definately make it again. Super easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
As Is this is a "good starting point" but it did not get 5 stars as (like most of the other posters) I had to do some doctoring. I only give 5 if I love it As Is. This is too heavy and too bland As Is. With a few changes however it is very "improveable". Without changes it is too thick (not creamy..."gloppy") with undiluted condensed soup and sour cream: I added 1/4 of milk to thin it down to "creamy". I used cream of mushroom soup since my kids don't like 'shrooms and I can hide them in tiny bits that way...but this does not change the flavor. I think any canned cream soup is going to work about the same (celery, chicken, 'shroom etc) as a base. My big issue (thickness aside) is that it is too bland. Since I had my shrooms in the cream base I sauted onions and celery in the butter. Increased the salt and pepper from 1/8 t0 1/4 tsp. Tasted, still a little bland...added 1/8 tsp of onion powder and gralic powder. NOW it is something that will pour instead of PLOP over the noodles and has some flavor.(I also added baby peas just because my kids love peas and it makes it healther with the added veggies.......but that is personal preferance/does not affect the flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
As per other reviewers, I added more liquid. I added another can of soup. Since I did not have cream of celery soup and since there were mushrooms, I used a total of 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, 1/2 chopped onion saute'd with the mushrooms, 1 tablespoon of minced garlic and 1/2 cup of half and half. The kids and I loved it! Hubby does not like turkey, so next time, I will try this with leftover chicken. Definitely a stick to your ribs kinda meal. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
A big hit. Only had cream of chicken & substituted half the sour cream with plain yogurt. Very tasty. Will be definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I used one can of cream of celery and 1 can of cream of mushroom and added half a can of milk and the creaminess was just right. I also added broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was DELICIOUS!! I followed other reviews and added sauteed onions, minced garlic, garlic powder, and shredded cheese. I also added milk for a creamier consistency. This was my first time eating and making any kind of tetrazzini and was very impressed! I will definitely be making this again- if not with turkey then with chicken!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRITTANY2852

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This is an awesome dish!! I had a lot of turkey left over from Thanksgiving and it was perfect for this recipe. I did make a couple of changes. I used 3 tablespoons of butter and added a small onion and a clove of garlic which I sauted with the mushrooms. I think it would taste really good with chicken as well. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
sounds good if you like canned food. Ok as well if you got a frozen turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I agree with most reviewers, this recipe is a great start, but I followed other's advice and added a soup can of milk and more sour cream. I also eliminated the mushrooms, added sauteed onions and then peas and italian seasoning. It was good, not super flavorful, so next time I'll be adding some garlic, too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Turkey Tetrazzini II

See how to make classic turkey tetrazzini.

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States