Easy Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I am new to making gravy and this was excellent! It makes a ton though. I could have easily halved it and still had leftovers, but that's okay! I am looking forward to using the leftovers for turkey pot pie! I made turkey stock by browning the neck and giblets with onion in butter, then added 4 cans of chicken broth and some thyme and simmered for 2 hours. Then I strained it and added the drippings to make 5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
We love this recipe! It is easy, tastes great and makes a lot. It works really well along with the Roast Turkey Michigander Style (this site), because that recipe produces lots of broth. I like to add both mushrooms and sour cream to the gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I tried this at Thanksgiving and everyone was disappointed. Very bland, tasted like soup and not very thick. I seen all the 5 stars and thought it was going to taste great but 11 people agreed it wasn't good like old fashion drippings and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
The BEST gravy ever! I will only use this recipe from now on. I used all the drippings from my turkey which was probably a little more than 5 cups (I poured chicken broth in the pan before roasting the brid). I used fresh thyme, rosemary, sage, and marjoram (2 tsp each) instead of poultry season, used 1 tsp. minced garlic instead of garlic powder, and used 1/2 tsp regular salt instead of season salt. This makes a ton of gray. I packaged up the left overs in 1+ cup servings and put it in the freezer for the rest of the year when you can't find turkey gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missz174

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Made this recipe this year for my Thanksgiving dinner, and it was OUTSTANDING. The only thing I changed was I cut back the season all by half a teaspoon. We love salt and it was plenty salty I thought, so I was glad I followed my instinct. Either way, it was GREAT. Thanks for this great, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was good turkey gravy - I didn't even have any drippings (had my turkey smoked by someone) but the gravy turned out very well. There was also a lot of it which was good. The only change I made (aside from no drippings) was to use chicken stock since I couldn't find turkey stock in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving, it was so yummy! I never, ever make gravy...it makes me nervous, (and I'm a bit of a health nut so we never eat it)and I haven't made any in years, so this was the perfect recipe for me....sooooo easy & so delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
So delicious... Rich, creamy & flavorful!!! Comes together so easily on stressful holidays. Just a few minutes, even fewer ingredients and ta-da... YUM!! I didn't modify a thing cause hey, "if it aint broke don't fix it." ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I will never search for or make another gravy recipe! When I found out that I was having Thanksgiving this year my first thought was, 'how can I keep this simple?'. Of course buying gravy already made was on my list until I found this recipe! It sounded simple and I like to keep things homemade when I can. Well, this was a good call because everyone raved about it. My kids (21 and 15) who have never tried gravy...LOVED IT. For the Turkey, I used the recipe from this site Turkey the Michigander Way and used the drippings/broth right from the pan for the 5 cups of Turkey stock (and there was plenty). I also used Olde Bay Seasoning instead of poultry seasoning (which is pretty much the same with some added spices). Be careful with the salt because the soup is already salty and so is the broth. In fact, next time I would probably leave the salt out of the recipe all together. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: East Greenbush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
The easiest and best I have made. Will do it more often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States