Easy Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I wasn't very impressed. I didn't have turkey drippings, so I bought the unsalted chicken stock from the grocery store (which maybe that is where I went wrong). I followed the recipe exactly, and even added the seasoned salt, since I did use the unsalted stock. The flavor was ok, but it was as thin as water, and the color wasn't impressive. I stood there and stirred forever, and finally pulled out the corn starch, and THAT didn't even thicken it up to a normal consistency. I ended up putting it on the table anyway for the whole family, and I am the only person that tried it. The appearance must have turned everyone else off. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
It IS easy and part of it can be made the night before. What I found lacking was flavor! I had to add chicken bouillon and had to thicken it far more than the recipe suggests. Easy? You bet! Can you do better? Absolutely-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very good gravy. Didn't change anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Love this recipe...I always get compliments on the gravy every time I make it for Thanksgiving...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
made this for Thanksgiving dinner 2013 and we loved it!!! the advice of another reviewer said to cut all the spices by half now this is good advice because you can always add more spices according to your taste I took that advice and cut all the spices by half and it turned out wonderful!!! my opinion is if I had not cut the spices in half, the gravy would have overpowered the rest of the dinner it would have been delicious! but overpowering. This of course, is just a matter of taste. This is the best recipe for turkey gravy not a thing is wrong with this recipe thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
it was really salty so i had to add water (about 4 oz) and extra milk (about 2 oz extra) but it came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I've made this dressing for the last 3 Thanksgivings and everyone loves it. It has so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I always use Wondra instead of flour. It never lumps and works like a dream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Last Thanksgiving I had moved up my side dish game at my parents annual get together. I am usually responsible for the mashed potatoes, but not for the gravy. It drives me nuts because the gravy that usually gets ladled onto my beautiful potatoes is pretty much the equivalent of water. Not this time! I announced I'd be making the gravy too right when I walked in the door. This recipe was easy and really delicious! I omitted the salt, figuring there was enough in the soup and the drippings, and I think that is a wise choice for anyone making this, unless you're not putting salt on your turkey. The gravy is exactly what I wanted, rich, salty, creamy, and delicious. I got several compliments, even from the usual gravy maker (who by the way hovered over me the whole time trying to give me pointers on how to make it taste more like water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This recipe is a real time saver at Thanksgiving. It reheats well with leftovers and is ridiculously easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutchlm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States