Easy Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
AWESOME! We are keeping it simple this Christmas and are using Roasted Turkey Breast from Honey Baked Ham Co. Because I will not have pan drippings from a turkey, I needed a gravy recipe that didn't use drippings. I followed the following tips: 1. I used Swanson's canned chicken broth (3, 14oz. cans equal 5 cups). One of the cans I used Roasted Garlic chicken broth. 2. I increased the flour by 2 Tablespoons, and added 2 Tablespoons of Corn Starch. 3. I omitted the salt (and I like heavy salt). There's enough saltiness with the broth. Thanks JMOR777 for a terrific gravy recipe. Merry Christmas everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
If you have very flavorful stock/drippings from your turkey this gravy is wonderful! So easy and reliable. I used the Homestyle Turkey the Michigander way from this site to roast my turkey and it provides great tasting and plentiful stock. I would not add the salt unless you are using low sodium soup. This gravy makes a great base for turkey stew or pot pie to use up those left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This gravy was great! We used it on Thanksgiving with turkey and again on Christmas with ham. For the ham gravy we replaced turkey stock with ham juices and used cream of celery soup instead of cream of chicken soup. It was great again. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Gravy turned out great and was easier then expected. Instead of mixing the milk with the flour i added all incredients at once and had no problems with lumps. I used 3 cups of drippings from the Michigander recipe and 2 cups of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This was very good and easy. However, one downside for me is that for “turkey stock” I had to buy a large quantify of turkey stock concentrate to make it from. It may take me to the year 2020 to use up the rest of the concentrate. But then again, this may be just a local problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
GREAT AND EASY! Here's what used/did, as I didn't have exactly the same ingredients: I browned the turkey neck and giblets in a sauce pot and added 5 cups of ckn broth, brought to a boil & took out the neck & giblets. I added a can of cream of ckn with herbs soup because that's what I had, and I really think it added a little something extra that made it that much better. I then added some garlic powder, onion powder, lots of fresh ground pepper, and some ground savory (herb). I added 1/4 cup of flour to 1 cup of warmed milk - I did that because I thought the 1/3 was a bit much, and I was right - 1/4 was more than enough. I slowly poured it into the gravy while whisking and it thickened up immediately. Because it was so thick (it wasn't paste or anything, but it was definitely more creamy than a gravy), I added tons of pan drippings to the finished gravy, which not only thinned it out a tiny bit, but added A TON of flavor! I did NOT add any salt - you really don't need it (and I LOVE salty food). This gravy was SO ridiculously easy and SO delicious... I'll be making this a regular staple when make turkey or chicken. PS - this gravy is NOT enough for 28 people/servings. It makes a LOT of gravy, but if your family is anything like mine, then this is enough for about 2 dozen people. Again, just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEADMEISTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I've never been able to make gravy very well. This gravy turned out just perfect. It wasn't a pain in the butt to follow the directions and didn't take a lot of time to do. I used cornstarch, instead of flour, and it thickened up while still on the burner. My husband loved the flavor and I loved that and how easy it was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
WOW!This gravy was amazing! It was a big hit this christmas! everyone loved it, and plus it was my firt time making gravy! so easy!I didn't have any milk so i put whipping cream instead and it came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This gravy has an awesome flavor. It does thicken upon standing for a few minutes. This is my new annual turkey gravy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I'm not sure what I may have did wrong but this gravy had no color, even a bit greenish! Taste was good, finally thickened with added cornstarch, not with standing as recipe suggusted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States