Easy Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Best gravy ever! I cooked my turkey with celery, carrots, and onions in the water. After cooking I removed the turkey and put everything in the pan into the food processor, added the ingredients as directed and it came out perfectly. Go easy on the salt because it comes out very well seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Great recipe! I did end up using half reduced sodium and half regular stock. It did turn out a little salty but I like salty. Definitely made PLENTY of gravy for everyone and leftovers. Also, the grocery store that I normally shop at misordered turkey stock so I ended up using chicken stock and it came out just fine and pleased the whole crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This recipe was awesome! I bought a pre-cooked turkey this year so I used this recipe for the gravy. Came out perfect and very tasty. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kleather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Best home-made gravy I've ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I am the submitter of this recipe and I just wanted to share a few pointers for making this gravy. I don't stuff my turkey just so that I will have lots of juices from the turkey to make my gravy. I fill the cavity of the turkey with chicken broth, and if it is a 20+ pound bird, I will pour in as much as 32 ounces of chicken broth. When the turkey is done roasting some 4 hours later, I pour off all of the broth, which is A LOT, and I use this broth to make gravy and to pour over my dressing. Adjust the flour and milk to thicken, adding more if you like a thicker gravy. Also, if I have brined the turkey, I do not add salt. A brined turkey gives wonderful broth, and the gravy is delicious. Hope this helps with some of the issues people are having.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
IF made with real turkey drippings, then what a FANTASTIC and easy gravy recipe! Please note: one cannot expect the same result with all broth/stock, especially if canned/boxed and no turkey fat. Just b/c it utilizes a little canned soup (easssssy, gravy snobs, easy) doesn't mean it's not phenomenally savory, creamy, and the perfect consistency. Only changes I made were to omit garlic, only use a sprinkle of poultry seasoning, and cut salt back by half. I'd never have guessed about the soup being one of the ingredients. I will never make another turkey gravy recipe again. Ridiculously easy to make! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was our first gravy we made, it was easy an a hit. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
wonderful gravy! Plentiful and not one lump!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I really watch my salt, so I was careful (reduced the seasoned salt; cooked a fresh, unbrined turkey; and used reduced salt mushroom soup. This gravy is the best I have ever made in my 60+ years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
In full disclosure, I should say that I really only like white gravy. That being said, I had to cook Thanksgiving dinner by myself and new that wasn't an option, so this looked like a great choice. I made a couple of technical errors that may have effected one of the problems I had with the gravy -- first, I forgot to let the broth come to a boil before I added the cream of chicken, and second, I didn't warm my milk. All of the reviews I read said they had no lumps, but I did -- not from the flour, but from the cream of chicken. They were small, and I tried to strain them all out but still some of the slipped thru. No one but me even noticed. The main issue for me was the saltiness. Many reviewers discussed this, so I reduced the salt by nearly half, and I still thought it was salty -- I don't think I've ever said that in my life! I'm giving this 4 stars because everyone seemed to like it, but just for the salt factor alone, I will look for another turkey gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States