Easy Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
I love this soup and make it often--it's so quick, versatile and easy! I add frozen yellow corn, black beans (if I have them), and a whole jalapeño or 2 to the mix. Sometimes I use one can diced tomatoes w/ green chilies, one can regular diced tomatoes (keeping the juice from both cans) and omit the tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
A friend's mother gave me a recipe similar to this one. I use a family size can of soup and do not use the tomato sauce. I "soup" mine up though. I start with chicken breasts(cut in small cubes), onion, bell pepper, and garlic. Saute these first then add soup and rotel. I also add corn (canned or frozen) and some chopped cilantro right at the end. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This recipe was very delicious and sooooooo easy. I borrowed the idea from another reviewer and added frozen corn, black beans, and also I added about 1/2 a jalepeno, 2 tablespoons of salsa, salt and black pepper, 2 dashes of hot sauce. I like Spicy. It was thick with the added corn and beans, but very hearty and delicious. Thanks for the great recipes. I will make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
I did add some extra spice to this recipe (chili powder, cilantro & juice from a jar of hot chili peppers). This was so easy & very, very good. Great for football Sundays'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
This is the best for busy households. It takes longer to prepare than to warm up. And it is a big hit with everyone I serve it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I love the idea of using chicken and rice for the base of this soup. Great idea! As per other reviews, I went without the tomato sauce and instead doubled the diced tomatoes. Add a can of black beans. Added some spices - cumin, chili powder, paprika, garlic salt, black pepper to taste. You can really play around with this recipe to suit your tastes. I'm a from-scratch kind of cook myself, but because of how well this turned out, I will be taking the shortcut route in the future for tortilla soup. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I added the ciltro, onion, and a squeeze of lemon. This was a quick and easy recipe to prepare. I would recommend this to friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Great flavor, and fast to make! I used tortilla chips with a hint of lime for even extra flavor. I also would recommend adding lime to the soup to kick it up even more. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Pretty good as is, but I added some spices (ground cumin and chili powder) as well as corn and beans in the end to spice it up a little bit. Then it was a little bitter, so I added some brown sugar, and it was delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
It was really good. I added in a lil taco seasoning and avocado....and it was soooooooo YUMMY. My daughter is a Tortilla soup fanatic to begin with and she said it was the best soup she ever had. Thats how she judges Mexican restaurants, if their soup is good, then shes happy. lol If its not, she wont return. So i was pleased cuz she is a rough food critic at times...and shes only 10yrs old. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by htruett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States