Easy Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Delish! Will have to double this recipe because it went fast between just two of us. I have other versions of this type of soup that include meat and other veggies, but if you need a quick and fast heart warming soup made with regular cupboard items, this is full of flavor without the meat and extra additions. I thought the corn ingredient seemed a bit strange and would make it too sweet with the added sugar, but not so. It is actually adds a nice texture to the soup and my soup was still tomato tart. Use crushed tomatoes only (not sauce, or diced, or stewed, etc.). Alternatively, crush the diced, stewed, if that's all you have on hand. The Parmesan is a must! I can't speak for the powdery kind, but real Parmesan was wonderful. We used frozen tortellini and tossed in for about 8 minutes, just long enough for them to thaw in the soup but not get mushy. Agree with others that more than 8 oz of tortellni will crowd this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This recipe was so easy to put together. While I was waiting for my supper to cook I was able to throw this together. It took about 20-30 minutes. It isn't just easy but delicious as well. I had regular canned tomatoes and decided I wanted to follow the recipe exactly so I put them in my Bullet mixer for just a second or two and they were crushed just right. I would definitely recommend using crushed tomatoes. The texture is nicer for this soup. I was tempted to throw in more tortellini so it would be nice and hearty but so glad I followed the recipe to a tea. 8 ounces is just right. More than that and it would not have any liquid left. I am loving this soup. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Substituted Campbell's beef broth for the chicken. Switched celery for zucchini and added a sweet yellow pepper. Held off on the hot sauce in deference to the savory end of the spectrum. Loved by all. Kids and adults alike. Ten thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This is a family favorite. My 5 & 7 year old boys love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Used hominy instead of white corn and white onion. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This was great! I got 6 one-cup servings out of it. I made it exactly like stated -- except I used 70 tortellini (We just have a huge bag from costco, so I counted out 3 servings according to that bag).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAL315

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Excellent and SO easy! Made this when I was tired and didn't want to be in the kitchen -- it came together quickly and was a huge hit! I didn't have zucchini but it was still great -- I followed others' suggestion and added a bit of fresh basil at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I did not have a red onion, I used a sweet onion instead. I also threw in some chopped red pepper, fresh minced garlic and a cup of chopped fresh mushrooms. I did choose to drain and rinse my canned corn. I served this soup with homemade Red Lobster-type biscuits, which the boys used to sop up the remaining broth in their bowls. Very filling and satisfying soup--the extra added vegetables made it even more so. Even my kids enjoyed it, we all thought this is most definitely a make again meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
great great soup and so easy - my entire family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
YUMM!!!! This really is super easy and had a fantastic flavor! I didn't have hot pepper sauce, but didn't miss it either. I used tomatoes with basil and garlic since that is what I had on hand and that was wonderful. Highly recommend this. Hubby (nor I for that matter) are big on tomato-based soups, but this one is the exception! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States