Easy Tomato Soup Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Great way to replace the oil and still have a moist cake. There is no sign of tomato soup in the taste! My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Necastro1122

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I've never made tomato Soup cake before - it is the most delicious, moist, light tasty cake that my 82 yr. old mother thinks should win awards. She was going on and on about it. Great with Cream Cheese Frosting II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUNTTISH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
My Mom made this cake for many years..Very good cake and moist...She added walnuts and called it her soup to nut cake....enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This is a great recipe who would of thought you could replace oil for tomato soup great tasting and very moist wish I would of seen this sooner. I might try this with choc cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Maine, USA
Living In: Monmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Very moist and delicious. Made them for Mother's Day and iced with Betty Crocker whipped cream cheese frosting (I was pressed for time!); they were a HUGE hit. Fed the leftovers to my coworkers and not one could tell there was tomato soup in it. Printing it out to keep. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These have a definate tomato soup "twang" to them. If you're looking for a substitute for oil...stick with applesauce. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarajo614

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Made this cake for the first time today to take to a family meal to serve as dessert. When it was baking it filled the house with an amazing aroma that was wafting from the oven. The cake came out perfect. It was moist and delicious. I used a whipped cream cheese frosting. I have a busy life and don't always have time to make things from "scratch" so this fit the bill perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
My grandson, who claims he hates tomatoes, just LOVES, this cake. This is my first time baking it. I made cream cheese frosting from scratch to go with it. I like that you don't have to add oil or butter to this, and it comes out very moist. This recipe is a KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was very moist and yummy. I gave it four stars because I think the tomato soup made it salty, which wasn't awful, but I didn't care for it. I used a store brand, so I wonder if that contributed to the problem. I didn't notice any other reviews with that complaint. I will try again with Campbell's or maybe even a lower sodium variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Have been enjoying this cake since I was a youngster - Mom made it often and I have continued the tradition. Sometimes I add about 1/4 tsp of pumpkin pie spice to the batter, and about 1/2 cup of choc.chips to each pan (dust them with flour and sprinkle on top of batter-they will sink into the center of each layer as they bake). Don't worry-no one will know there is tomato soup in the cake - just is a spicy moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States