Easy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very good basic recipe that you can spice to your liking. Some reviewers have said they did not like the "tomato paste." The recipe calls for tomato puree which is not paste and is far less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This recipe is awesome. I have High Blood Pressure, so i need to find my own way to make tomato sauce. Even my daughter who hates most everything likes it thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonmeilleurami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lenachka
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
i followed some advice of other reviewers and took out the tomato puree, and added 3 cloves garlic and dried basil. serves amazing with angel hair pasta with a little parmesan cheese sprinkled on top .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenachka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Someone gave me fresh tomatoes and I needed a way to prepare them (I won't eat them plain), and this recipe was great! As other reviewers stated it's a good base that can be dressed up any number of ways. I personally added minced garlic, basil, oregano, peppers, a little sugar and salt, and 1 cup of chicken broth, then let it simmer and reduce and thicken for a few hours. It was great with spaghetti and meatballs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barefoot_Gypsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Andalusia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magob
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
The first time I made this I used garden fresh tomatoes and omitted the puree, and I didnt really care for it, too plain. The Second time I used garden fresh tomatoes and used the tomato puree that has garlic and basil, I also added fresh garlic and basil. I used less chopped onion and used onion powder (I dont care for onions texture) and it was wonderful! this will definitely replace bottled pasta sauce for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Fantastic! I followed a bit of advice from other reviews. I reduced the amt of olive oil to 2 tbsp and added 1 cup of chicken broth and reduced. I also added 2 cloves of minced garlic, garlic powder, dried oregano, dried thyme, and dried basil. The sauce was fantastic as a vegetarian tomato sauce. I used the leftover sauce as part of the marinade in the "marinated grilled shrimp" recipe found on allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
easy to make and I just added fresh garlic and some basil and it was delicious. We are diabetic and this receipe fits us perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
They should put fresh & tasty into the title, cause just as the name implies its Easy tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elaine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Great simple recipe.Though I add a cup of chicken stock to the mix and let it reduce till its thick.Great on chicken,pasta,even rice.I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States