Easy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
i find it very hard to get my kid's to eat jars of sauce. But they all really enjoyed this quick and easy sauce and the best thing about it is you can also add whatever herbs and spices you like just to add to the flavour. Great alround sauce thanks Lima
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLEN666

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Croydon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Penge, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This was just what I was looking for. Very good sauce, and easy to adapt to a variety of uses. I thought it was just a bit too oily - would reduce oil by at least 1 tablespoon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This is a great sauce. I found it to be missing a bit of richness, so I added one cup of chicken stock and let it reduce down, I also added some fresh basil right before serving. I served the sauce over spaghetti with homemade meatballs. The result was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
SOOO easy, but I wasn't crazy about the tomato paste. Since I was using garden fresh tomatoes, I wish I'd skipped the 'canned' paste because I think it took away from the flavor of the fresh tomatoes. Can't beat it for ease and it was good- just not quite what I was looking for tonight. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This was a super fast and easy recipe! My family really liked it but I did alter it a bit. I followed some suggestions of other reviewers and reduced the olive olive. I also added some green onions to the white onions to be sauted. When the sauce was simmering, I added some dried garlic, dried basil and grated romano cheese. It was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This is a great recipe that is easy in a pinch. I added fresh garlic with the onions and then put in some fresh basil with the tomatos. My 2 year old son and husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This was a really good starter recipe. I gave it 4 stars because it needed more taste. I added fresh minced garlic, and mushrooms to the red onion in olive oil. I also added basil. The tomato paste tasted like a tin can but it did thicken it up. I ended up creating my own dish by cooking chicken in a separate pan and then allowing it to cook with the sauce. I added a little bit of sugar and parsley while simmering it. It needs a little more flavor. Buttering your spagetti noodles did the trick for me. Thanks for the starter recipe! It got me cooking this tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
So I really enjoyed how basic this recipe was. I was in desperate need of utilizing too many left over Costco tomatoes and this was right up my alley. I didn't have tomato paste, but seeing a review wishing to omit anyway - I did. While I was sauteing the onions I felt like it was missing the "smell." So I added 3 cloves of grated garlic and dried basil. It turned out fantastic! I can still smell my sauce now - Yummy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I actually think this is five stars, but only after a few additions. I sauteed some minced garlic with the onion, ditched the tomato puree, and added some basil, oregano, savory and thyme. Tossed it with rotini, feta, peas, a bit more olive oil and vinegar, and tomato-onion tuna. Mmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Great simple recipe.Though I add a cup of chicken stock to the mix and let it reduce till its thick.Great on chicken,pasta,even rice.I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States