Easy Tomato Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This wasn't bad but it wasn't great either. We had it for dinner but did not save the left overs. Maybe I would like it more pureed before the crab was added. In any case, the crab flavor was really overwhelmed by the tomatoes. I did add a bit of old bay seasoning (after making it as described and finding it a little bland) but it didn't do much for it. One nice thing about it - it is very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I'm on a pretty strict diet so I had to change it a bit, but this was pretty good. I didnt use any oil or cream. I heated up my onion and crab meat w/ some garlic powder while my blender did its job w/ my garden tomatoes. Added the tomatoes and pepper to my crab mix and let it heat. Not to shabby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I'm a big crab lover, and this was still not my thing. I think what really threw me off was the chunky tomatoes. Crab meat in a soup is supposed to me smooth, so everything else should be like it. I might try this again, because the flavors were there. But next time I will do a mock "bisque". Maybe use more tomato sauce or soup. Or if I use the diced tomatos, I will put the finished components in a blender and really melt it all down and together. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Night Owl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
An excellent and very easy soup. I used Italian-seasoned diced tomatoes to give it a different spin. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Very good, the dill was an excellent suggestion. A little salty for me, but I probably should have drained the crab meat more thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I didn't have very high expectations for this recipe but I had hoped using Healthy Request soup & crab from a pouch instead of a can, would yield good results but it was just fair, at best. I didn't bother to save the leftovers so that ought to tell you something. I added a can of small shrimp (rinsed well & drained to remove the tinny taste), I used crushed tomatoes instead of diced & I added Old Bay. I garnished teh bowls w/ parmesan cheese & parsley flakes. It was better than fast food but that's about as high a praise as I can give....thanks for the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Very delicious recipe and easy to prepare! I did make some additions - I added one can of diced potatoes, one can of corn, few dashes of Old Bay, and one can of small shrimp. I also did increase the garlic to about 3 cloves and added slightly more 1/2 and 1/2 than called for. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Great flavor and filling. Everyone really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I used 8 oz. cooked crabmeat from the fish market instead of canned. Also used fat free half and half. Although this said 6 servings, if you were using this as your meal for lunch, I would call it 3 to 4 servings. Would definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
After some additions it was really good...We like garlic, so next time I'll at least double the garlic (which I roast in the oven so it's a paste). It seemed really bland, then I realized there is no salt or pepper! I used frozen crab instead of canned, so maybe canned crab gives it salt?? I don't know. but we added salt and pepper and dill. Yes dill. My husband used to work at a restaurant where they made tomato dill soup and it was awesome so we tried it and it really tasted good! It says it serves 6, but we ate it as a meal, so three people max along with homemade wheat rolls. A-MAZING!! Definitely bland without the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States