Easy Tomato Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Very delicious recipe and easy to prepare! I did make some additions - I added one can of diced potatoes, one can of corn, few dashes of Old Bay, and one can of small shrimp. I also did increase the garlic to about 3 cloves and added slightly more 1/2 and 1/2 than called for. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I'm a big crab lover, and this was still not my thing. I think what really threw me off was the chunky tomatoes. Crab meat in a soup is supposed to me smooth, so everything else should be like it. I might try this again, because the flavors were there. But next time I will do a mock "bisque". Maybe use more tomato sauce or soup. Or if I use the diced tomatos, I will put the finished components in a blender and really melt it all down and together. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Night Owl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
After some additions it was really good...We like garlic, so next time I'll at least double the garlic (which I roast in the oven so it's a paste). It seemed really bland, then I realized there is no salt or pepper! I used frozen crab instead of canned, so maybe canned crab gives it salt?? I don't know. but we added salt and pepper and dill. Yes dill. My husband used to work at a restaurant where they made tomato dill soup and it was awesome so we tried it and it really tasted good! It says it serves 6, but we ate it as a meal, so three people max along with homemade wheat rolls. A-MAZING!! Definitely bland without the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This is a fantastic soup and incredibly easy to make! I've even tried it with fat-free half & half and it still tastes great. I can't stop making this soup! I've experimented with sauteed portabellos, spinach, and a little red wine. I've even tried it with 1/2 of the half & half because my boyfriend is picky about creamy soups. I wish I could give it 6 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Middlebury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
Excellent. We are on the Atkins diet so I use heavy cream and add a 14oz can of chix broth. The recipe says it serves 6. It wasn't enough for 3. So I'm doubling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
Very simple! The fat free creamer is a winner. Can taste the Campbell's soup and canned tomatoes so next time I'll use homemade tomato soup and fresh diced tomatoes. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I am a Mom of two and need QUICK, EASY meals on the double! This was a wonderful grown-up meal that my husband and I enjoyed. I'm sure that my toddler would have ate this, but I decided to give him a kid friendly meal instead. I did use a can of evaporated milk and garlic powder instead of the half and half cream along with fresh garlic. Also, I added a small can of tomato sauce because I thought it was a little on the watery side. This fixed it for sure. I added dill like someone recommended previously. Also, I added a little marjoram along with salt and pepper. When I served it, I put mozzarella along with parmesan cheese on top of it. It was a complete meal with focaccia bread served on the side that I got at our local grocery store. The only thing that I may do different in the future is puree this soup and then add the crab along with the evaporated milk or the half and half cream after pureeing it. Overall, this recipe is a keeper and will make its way to my kitchen table again:). Thanks for sharing it with all of us. This would also be wonderful with a spinach salad of some type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alr516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was very good and very easy to make! I made a double batch and am so glad I did. I used two cans of tomatoes and tomato soup and a 16oz can of Brabant meat. I did not double the half and half but added some Parmesan cheese. I also added salt, pepper, extra garlic and old bay. I pureed the garlic, onion and tomatoes with a little of the tomato soup and am so glad I did. I also used fat free half and half. I will definitely be making this again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made two batches of this recipe. The first batch I followed exactly, just with fat free half/half and some extra garlic. It was good, but definitely was missing a little something. I followed others' advice and added salt, pepper, and dill. The second batch I used red onions, lots of garlic, better quality lump crab meat, and added some cajun seasoning at the end to give it a little kick. This batch bursts with flavor. Regardless of how you spice it up, you definitely need to use quality lump crab meat, it's sweeter and more flavorful. Very fast preparation with a comfort-food quality, I will be keeping this recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This soup was awesome! I made it exactly how it was shown with the exception of using fat-free half-and-half and it was perfect! Next time I make it I may add more seafood to it like mussels, scallops, and shrimp. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States