Easy Tomato-Basil Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This pizza was sooooo good and extremely simple to make. I only made 1 pizza and I did change a couple of things. I also did not follow the amounts of ingredients 100% but it still turned out fantastic so it is pretty much fool proof. Instead of large tomatoes, I used 4 roma tomatoes seeded for one pizza and fresh basil from my garden. I also did not include mushrooms since I did not have any on hand and I left out the jalapeno. I used a yellow onion instead of a red onion. My husband and I devoured it and he said he loved it more than the pepperoni pizzas we always make at home. Can't wait to make it again. Thank you so much for this simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Simple, easy, and delicious! This was great for dinner! I used some plum tomatoes that I sliced and salted to get the water out vs. chopping. I left out the jalapeno, mushrooms, onion and olives as a personal preference plus my husband isn't a huge fan of a bunch of stuff on a pizza. And, I really just wanted the fresh tomato and basil to shine through. For the pizza sauce I used "Pasta/Pizza Sauce" from this site. I layered my sauce, cheeses, fresh basil & tomatoes then drizzled a bit of olive oil over top. It baked up beautifully and tasted great - especially with a nice glass of wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This recipe was delicious! The only change that I made was to add a whole bunch of garlic which I thought made the pizza much more tasty. Also, be sure to realize that this recipe is for two pizzas! Cutting all the ingredients in half made more than enough food for my family of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I only used tomatoes and basil because it was all I had and the kids wont eat anything when they see onions! Left the tomateos in slices for the top and used a split french bread loaf along with fresh basil from my herb garden!.. Thanks for a simple and good recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was so good! My kids inhaled it and my daughter asked if I could make it again. I did leave off the jalepenos because of my kids and parmesan cheese because I didn't have any. I'll be making this one again soon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Delicious recipe. However, when using fresh mushrooms, they must be precooked to get out the moisture or you will have a very soggy pizza. I added fresh garlic to the sauce and it was perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was SO satisfying and delicious! I used 6 roma tomatoes and left off the peppers, olives, and mushrooms. Mistakenly I also left out the sauce but it was AWESOME that way! We tried adding some after but it was much better without it! This is the best pizza I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was pretty good, and a different way to make pizza. A lot of it will depend on the quality of the crust you buy, so look for one you like. It would be easy to substitute toppings depending on what you like and/or have on hand. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This pizza was great! Eyeballed most of the measurements, but they should have been roughly what was given in the recipe. It's a very tasty pizza and we'll be sure to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Woody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
A little strong/much... We couldn't handle eating too much of the flavor, so we couldn't fill up on it. We did use the jalapenos, so maybe it would have been easier on our tummies without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States