Easy Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This is surprisingly yummy even though it has ?!crackers!? in the recipe. When I made it, I used a more buttery cracker like the tollhouse ones and it came out superb. One mistake I made the first time I made this-- I didn't mix the butter and brown sugar enough and ended up with a buttery/sugary mess that was more separated-- the sugar stayed in the middle and the butter ran along the outer edges of the pan-- still tasted good but wasn't as presentable-- so make sure you mix it until the sugar has completely dissolved. Also... i brought this to a Christmas party and did it in thirds... One third had peanuts on top, one third had walnuts and one third had mini M&Ms... All three combinations were wonderful! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRindell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
Yum! After melting the butter & brown sugar together, I brought it to a boil for 2 minutes and then poured it over the saltines. I baked it for 10 minutes. It worked great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AJLOUGHRAN
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
This recipe is awesome! I love any easy recipe that I can make in a matter of minuets and it tastes like it took hours! Thank you! To those that had trouble with the toffee becoming grainy, add a little corn syrup it stops the sugar from crystallizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I have made this for years - don't let the temperature throw you off - or rather, trying to get the right temperature. When you cook the brown sugar and butter it is watery - as it heats to the proper temperature it comes together and when you can wipe your spatula across the bottom as you stir, it will separate so that you can see the bottom of the pan. It is hard to describe in typing but once you see it, you will get what I am trying to convey :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ellie
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I have been making a variation of this recipe for years. My recipe uses White Chocolate chips. I started melting the chips in a seperate pot before spreading them over the partially baked saltine toffee, adding a bit of milk to make it easier to spread. I make it every Christmas. The white makes for a nice festive look as well as rich taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This is an awesome recipe! Everyone loves it! At Christmas I substituted crushed candy canes for the nuts on top. It tasted like a Thin Mint cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
It is easier if you melt the butter and sugar in the microwave and mix until completely blended. I usually add candy bits or sprinkles for the occasion, such as little Christmas trees, colored stars, or brightly colored sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
I tried this recipe 3 times. Came out good first time, then sugary and gritty next two. Not sure whether I cooked syrup too long or too little, but probably won't make again since it wasn't dependable for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
Delicious and very easy. I tried it with and without a candy thermometer and it came out fine both times. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Yum, yum, yum! This stuff is dangerously delicious. I could get fat having this stuff lying around! I modified this recipe in several ways. I melted the butter and brown sugar in the microwave and cooked it until it boiled after that I cooked it for about 2 1/2 minutes. I used ritz crackers instead of saltines. I cooked it for 10 minutes instead of 15, and then cooked for an additional minute after I put on the chocolate chips, to help them melt. I used heath bar bits instead of almond. I broke it into random sized pieces toffee. It was a hit at the party I went to, and was asked for the recipe. I will definitely make again for the next party I go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States