Easy Toffee Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
I tried these at work from a friend, and loved them. When I found the recipe here, I had to try it. So easy, and so good! They taste exactly like the Chocolate Werther's candies I adore. My mom, who can't eat a lot of candy because it makes her teeth hurt, even requested the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
i'm not sure what i did wrong, but the sugar got gritty. don't get me wrong, it tasted good, good, good! i will definitely make this again. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
I have made this many times. I love it! It is so easy. The recipe I have is slightly different (using white sugar), but I am sure it is just as good. I do have some suggestions. Make sure you use chocolate "chips". I had chocolate "chunks" thinking it would work the same...NOT!!!!!! I also melt white chocolate and drizzle it over the dark chocolate to make it look nicer. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
These are the best! I substituted rich Keebler Club Cracker for the saltines. They add a certain amount of oomph to them. Careful doing these with kids - the sugar/butter mixture can cause a nasty burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
This recipe is so good. Everyone was asking me for a copy of this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
I made this for my teenage daughter's school Xmas party. They loved it! It was all gone within minutes. Very easy to make. No one guessed that it was made with crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I have made this recipe with graham crackers and it is easy, delicious and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I must of done something wrong, because the bars never "set-up". When I tried to lift them from the pan, they were gooey and running. Any ideas of where I went wrong? I had to dip them in crushed pecans to kinda "solidify" them enough to handle. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I've been making this for years and it is a family favorite around the holidays. MARYAC, I usually let it boil for a few minutes. Maybe you didn't let it boil long enough b/c that's when it thickens? Just a thought. I sprinkle some chopped nuts on the melted chocolate. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Super easy and everyone loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States