Easy Toffee Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
These are always a hit whenever I make them. One tip, before you lay the crackers on your cookie sheet, put down heavy duty tin foil, once the cookies have cooled in the fridge, carefully peel off the foil. Makes clean up and setting of bars much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe. I've been making it for years as part of the gift baskets I give away at Christmas. I must say that it is VERY important to line your cookie sheet with heavy duty foil and then either grease the foil or spray with Pam. I use different types of nuts...whatever I have on hand, and sometimes I don't use any nuts at all. The back of a soup spoon seems to work well for smoothing out the chips after they have melted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
OHHHH! An aunt of mine use to make these for the holidays - I LOVE THEM! I remembered everyone in shock that it all started with crackers but couldn't remember the rest! I will make them this year - Thanks so much!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Classic and wonderfully simple, especially for the holidays. Here's a creative twist: use dark chocolate infused with peppermint oil and top with crushed candy cane pieces for a winter flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
These are wonderful. I used the release foil,lightly buttered, and they came out of the pan easily. I also added nuts on top of the chocolate immediately after baking. Make sure to boil the butter/br. sugar mixture about 3 minutes so it will solidify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I will not be trying this again. Not only did I waste the ingredients, it ruined my pan. The chocolate chips did not melt and the bottom layer became glued to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This was really good. My daughter and I made this together and she loved it. It was gone by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
What did I do wrong-these tasted good but they looked horrible. The chocolate didn;t melt right and was very clumpy. BUt the flavor was very good. My kids really liked them despite their appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Have made this recipe for 2 years now after failing at traditional toffee recipes. I love it. So does my husband and neighbors. The changes that I made are this - I make sure that I boil the sugar and butter for a few minutes until it starts to darken and morph into a pre-candy stage. Also, I cook the whole thing for 8 -10 minutes before adding the choc chips. Then I just pop it in (even with the oven off) to melt the chips. I burnt it the forst time that I cooked it for 5 minutes. Too hot for chips at that temp.. It does take a while to set. I always put mine in the garage or porch (in the winter). IT will help speed the process. Not the real thing, but close with tasty results!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Hard to believe you start out with crackers on this! It really is hard to distinguish from traditional toffee. I used graham crackers the first time because I was chicken, but I think I will try the saltines next time just to see how they differ. One tip - don't substitute margarine. You need the "real" butter flavor in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States