Easy Toffee Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I tried this recipe and did not get "pretty" results. The butter & brown sugar mixture did not properly absorb into the cracker so when it was completely done it was butter & brown sugar layer, dry cracker layer, and chocolate layer instead of one properly mixed dessert. Granted, I took the advise of one of the reviews and followed their adaptations that was slightly different than the original recipe. IF I were to try this again - which I probably won't - I'd follow the original recipe and ignore the comments and adaptations. It was a bit of a mess and a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
My sugar did not melt! They did set but fall apart easily. Because the sugar did not melt it is gritty on the bottom. If my sugar melted I would definitely give it five stars, very good minus the sugar problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
yummy. I greased a sheet of foil in the pan, then put the stuff in. I also ran low on choc. chips, so I put mini marshmallows with half a bag and then could spread it all over just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I made these today as a birthday gift for my sister-in-law. I didn't have saltines, but I was able to use Ritz Crackers instead. These were just wonderful, and I had no trouble removing from my pan, which I lined with Reynolds Release Foil sprayed with canola oil. I also sped up the setting process by placing the sheet in the freezer. Next time I think I will try topping some crushed popcorn as a base. I will update my review if this works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Make sure to line your pan and spray the foil. Add 1/4 tsp. vanilla to the sugar mixture too. I added a little coconut to my chocolate chips and put it back in the oven (turned off) for 4 more minutes to melt. Then spread evenly. I also topped it off with Pampered Chef's Sweet Caramel Crunch topping before refrigerating. So delicious and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
FANTASTIC! It doesn't get much easier than this...I have made four batches to take to various Christmas parties and it's been a hit each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookink8e
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This recipe is AWESOME! I have people that get angry with me when I show up to holiday parties with out this! Only change I make is I put non-stick aluminum foil down. If you don't getting them out of the pain is impossible. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This is a great recipe, but if you use a buttery cracker - our favorite for this is Keebler Clubhouse - it will be even better! Ritz also works well. I know someone who loves the large-size Cheez-Its with this but haven't tried that one. You can also stir in a teaspoon of vanilla to the sugar/butter after removing from heat for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
They were great. As many others, I increased the amount of butter in the crust to 10 tablespoons (1/2 cup + 2 TBS) and doubled the amount of toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Thank you Naples 34102! She wrote: I've been making this candy for many years because it's that good, and that simple. My recipe varies only slightly from this one, but it may help those who experienced any problems. Line your jelly roll pan with foil, then spray the foil with cooking spray. (This way you won't wreck your pan, and they won't stick) Heat the sugar and butter to boiling, then boil three minutes. Remove from heat and stir in 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Pour mixture over crackers and bake 5 minutes. Sprinkle chocolate chips evenly over top (I use milk chocolate as a matter of personal preference), then spread evenly as the chocolate begins to melt -- no need to return this to the oven. I then top with 1 cup finely chopped almonds or pecans, pressing down lightly. Refrigerate for at least 3 hours, then break into pieces and store in refrigerator. This is no fail and just delicious...addicting too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3

Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States