Easy Toffee Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Love this - make sure to follow other's tips that they have listed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I make this every year as part of my Christmas cookie trays and everyone loves it. I use the non-stick foil or parchment paper to line the pan. This way the pan stays clean and everything comes out easily. I have used cinnamon graham crackers and Keebler Club crackers. Everyone seems to like the salty club crackers the best. Don't put the chocolate back in the oven! The chips will melt fine with the residual heat. Give them 5 minutes and then use a flat offset spatula to smooth the chocolate. I sprinkle the top with red and green sprinkles for the holidays, but sliced toasted almonds are very good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
These are very good compared to how simple they are. I did as recommended - gently boiling the toffee for 3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Super yummy!!I did follow a few changes suggested by others. 1) used 1/2 tsp of vanilla after boiling sugar and butter. 2) used milk chocolate instead of semi choc. Perfer the taste over all. Also, did not put back into the over for a second time, just let the heat melt the chocolate and spread. Added almonds afterwards. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I've made these with semi-sweet and milk chocolate chips. I've used chopped macadamia nuts, almonds & pecans. I've used graham crackers, saltines and the long narrow buttery crackers. Just make sure the butter/sugar mixture boils for 4 minutes before removing from heat. I line my jelly roll pan with parchment paper. Also - you do not need to place the pan back into the oven after the chocolate chips. The heat from the sugar melts them. Just let the chips soften for a minute then spread evenly before sprinkling the nuts. This is probably the reason some of the negative complaints have mentioned burnt chocolate. So easy and so addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I tweaked this recipe because it needed it... first of all i used 2 sleeves of saltines and made 3 layers with 2 sticks of margarine/2cups of sugar cooked until boiling constructed in a 9 x 13 prepared glass pan then baked it in a 375 degree oven for 30min at which point i removed the pan from the oven and scattered 6 oz of chocolate chips over the top. I then placed the pan back in the oven for another 5 minutes, removed it to cool on a wire rack, decorated the melted chocolate by raking the tip of a fork over the top of the pastry, then finished it with a sprinkle of grey sea salt over the top. After it was entirely cooled i cut it intoo rough pieces to serve. My kids all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookofthefamily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Very good! I halved this recipe, and like a little bit less of the brown sugar mixture to allow for the saltiness of the cracker to come through. Next time I will use a spatula to spread the chocolate. I also had trouble with my crackers spreading across the pan, so looking for a way to fix that too. Overall, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I am writing this 3 reviews based on how the recipe is written. I wish I would have read reviews better before making this so I could have applied others tips. Like how to spoon the brown sugar sauce over the top instead of pouring and how to melt choc chips first. These tasted good but did not look like the picture at all. The chocolate chips were still in whole form and when I tried to spread them out after warm it just looked like a mess. Mine did not turn out as "bars" but more as a snack mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I have everyone in my family craving these on a monthly basis--An excellent recipe for hostess gift or welcoming basket--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Tried this recipe for the first time yesterday. Super easy and turned out great! Will try this again with my own variations! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States