Easy Toffee Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
These taste so good! But what a mess I have now. I followed the advice I read in the comments from naples 34102 and ROBBINS47:Foil lined pan, cook spray,etc.I couldn't possibly use them as gifts because they don't look very nice.I doubt I will try this again...but they are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inthe kitchen247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arcadia, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I also found that boiling the butter and brown sugar for 3 minutes made a big difference. I added 2/3 c. bits o' brickle (toffee bits) to the butter mixture and 1 cup of toasted sliced almonds to the chocolate on top before placing back in the oven. When all the baking is done, I like adding some seasonal sprinkles (the fun shaped not the colored sugar) to the top. I often use dark chocolate chips or milk chocolate chips or a blend of chips; this is a great time to use all those half-empty bags of baking chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Quick and easy! I love toffee and did not think this would taste that great with a saltine in the middle, but you couldn't even tell. It's a yummy, quick treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Delicious! I lined my jelly roll pan with foil and it did not stick at all. It is very important to stir the butter and sugar so that it dissolves but do not stir when it starts to boil because it'll cause the toffee to get too sticky. I used milk chocolate and topped it with dark chocolate m&m's. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
We love these. For a gourmet version, we add pecans and a little flaked sea salt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Easy recipe and always get good reviews. I recommend keeping the bars refrigerated to ensure the bars stay crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatekisses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I am very picky about recipes I find online. Many that have 5 stars are just gross! I love this! Make sure you line your cookie sheet with parchment paper. I let it go up over the sides to keep the sticky off of the pan. Also, I have made it b4 without putting it in the oven. Maybe bake it 2 or three minutes. Sometimes I pour on the butter mixture then throw on milk choc chips ( I always use milk choc) and let them melt. I have used walnuts, pecans and those nut topping packets. Another mistake people make is using 1 stick of butter thinking its 1 cup. I have done this in a hurry and u dont hav enough mixture. 2 sticks = 1 cup one more thing. I dont measure 10 oz in crackers. I have a large cookie sheet and fill it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I followed the recipe to the T, and it came out wonderfully! I did top it with Christmas sprinkles instead of nuts since I have a child who's allergic. I'm about to make my second pan tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I've tried to make these several times and every time the saltines "float" to the top of the toffee mixture while baking, leaving the sticky toffee on the bottom. Although they taste the same and are delicious, they are a sticky mess. What am I doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orange Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Coconut Creek, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I used Parchment paper so would not stick to pan. These were a 5 star rating at work. Many asked for the recipe. Definately a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States