Easy Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I had a few issues with this recipe. First of all, I did follow others suggestions and made twice the cheese filling. The filling was very thin even after adding an additional 1/4 cup of cheese. After sitting in the fridge for 24 hours, it did finally firm up enough to where you could cut into it and have a formed piece instead of the filling running everywhere. Second, if you are going to use an 8x8 pan as the recipe calls for, you should not need all 24 lady fingers or to double the filling. My 8x8 pan would hold 12 lady fingers and the orginal quantity of filling. Thinking in advance, I did a dry run with the cookies by placing them in the 8x8 pan before I even started the rest of the recipe. I ended up using an 11x7 pan and I thought it was the perfect size. Because the filling was so thin, the cheese mixture didn't do a very goo job of actualy forming a seperate layer. Overall, the taste was fine, but if I make another tiramisu, I will try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This is sooo easy to make! it was my first cake i ever attempted n everyone was impressed. Doubling the filling was not necessary for me as a thin layer over the ladysfingers was enough. One can dip the first layer of ladysfingers into the coffee lightning to make your 'sponge' layer drier and more cake-like. Added liberal amounts of Baileys Irish Cream into the coffee, tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
This was very easy. I liked that you didn't have to cook it. I beat and fold the egg whites into mine to give it a lighter texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
I recently made this for my boyfreind, he loves tiramisu. It was very easy and fast to make. I could not find lady fingers so I used Twinkies instead! They turned out great. He ate half the pan that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
My husband and I just came back from a cruise where they served the most wonderful tiramisu. I made this recipe for his birthday, and it tastes even BETTER than the cruise ship's recipe. I was so pleased with this! You MUST double the filling amount, as others have said. I used Milano cookies instead of ladyfingers, too. Mascarpone is hard to find... it's usually in the "fancy cheese" section of the grocery store, by the deli. Thanks, Kallista, for this GREAT dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stargirl3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
The hardest part was finding the mascarpone cheese. It's expensive, but worth it. I found it at an Italian bakery priced much less than my regular grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This recipe was the worst I've ever tried and tasted. I wasted the mascarpone on it, it wasn't enough to fill the platter, plus it was a very heavy tasting desert, it went down like a ton of bricks. It as very upsetting that it was so awful considering that I had guests over and had nothing else to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This is one of the most delicious no bake, easy recipes there are. The only reason I had to give it 4 stars is because I had to make a few changes to make it even better-1st change is double the filling amount. 2nd change is to dip the ladyfingers (make sure they are not soft but hard cookie ones) in a mixture that is 2 parts coffee, 1 part frangelico hazelnut liquor. Then i added some whipped cream on top. This is excellent and everyone that tries it loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
Easy alright, but not cheap! I had to go to a specialty store to buy the cheese, and while I was there I went ahead and bought the lady fingers,cocoa,and coffee. Well, the sales guy "pressured" me into buying "their" tiramisu, so I could "compare", and I did not knowing the price. Well, time to check out and I spent $45. So now I have a $45 batch of tiramisu in the fridge that is not half bad but If I look at one more piece, I'll spit ladyfingers! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
Excellent. I used a layer of chocolate cookies on the bottom and vanilla cookies for the second layer. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States