Easy Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
After reading other reviews, I modified this recipe by substantially reducing the amount of coffee and increasing the filling. I used about 1/3 cup strong coffee and brushed it on rather than dipping. I used an 8 oz container of mascarpone cheese and an 8 oz package of neufchatel cheese. I decided to make my own base for the tiramisu and used a ladyfinger recipe on this site as my starting point. Rather than making the batter into fingers, I made two 8" x 8" sponge cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
To prevent the ladyfingers from becoming too soggy, I just spooned some coffee over top and that was plenty! I also used more mascarpone cheese than the recipe indicated to help make it thicker. Overall this was a very quick and easy recipe that I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
The title says it all: Easy tiramisu. I recommend doubling the filling, using the proportions listed isn't enough, it would make the ladyfingers overwhelming. I also had to make my own mascarpone substitute, the taste was slightly different but just as delicious. I would also suggest sweetening the coffee with sugar or sugar substitute before dipping the cookies, especially if you plan on serving the same day. The bitterness of the coffee can be overwhelming to some. The longer you keep it in the fridge, the better. If possible, make it the day before. It is MUCH better the next day. The flavors meld so much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This looked so bad when I got done I was afraid to eat it. I felt really bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
made this tonight for my boyfriend and he loved it! doubled the recipe like others suggested and was able to get 3 layers of ladyfingers covered (used an 8x8 pan)! i couldn't find any mascarpone cheese so i followed someone's advice and used cream cheese, heavy whipping cream and sugar. also, instead of dipping the lady fingers i spooned 2 tablespoons of a coffee/rum mix over them as someone suggested and totally avoided the whole soggy problem. will definitely use this recipe again. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tira Misu

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
My cheese mixture was SO runny. I dunno how this can work without a thickening agent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
quite a good and easy recipe indeed. Coffee is what makes it best but make sure not to soak in your lady fingers for too long. a quick dip is more than enough. Also make sure that your coffee is cold and sweetned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Photo by jny0108@yahoo.com
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
SOOOOOO GOOD! I did add a little whip cream (heavy cream, confectioners sugar and vanilla) on top because it didn't make enough filling and I only soaked the lady fingers in the coffee for a second on each side. It's one of my favorite desserts and so easy. I do reccomend to let it sit in fridge for 2 hours before you dig in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
A seemingly complicated dessert made easy! I couldn't believe how simple and delicious this turned out. I added some sliced strawberries to the top as suggested by one of the photos and it was a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdelemos

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aveiro, Aveiro, Portugal
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I would give it 5 stars. I have made it twice now. Some hints I have learned may be helpful for anyone who is finding the wet bottom. Take a look at your sponge cakes before you dump all the coffee in. When i used delicate lady fingers from my bakery the first time, i didnt need all the coffee. This time I used a white angel food cake block I picked up by the strawberries in the grocery store. It was much more dense and actually needed all the moisture. I layered it in with the sponge on the bottom, kept it a little drier so it could come out nice on plates. The middle layer of the dish i soaked really well with coffee and Kaluah, then the top layer I soaked pretty good with only kaluah... with the base layer being a little bit less wet, i didnt have the extra laquid. Also I found that if I use the pound cake, I definately need it to set overnight so the cake absorbs all of the flavors from the marscapone cream mix. With the lady fingers, it was perfect in an hour or two. Either way, its amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Cups

See how to make amazing mini tiramisu treats.

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States