Easy Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
So easy to make, it's actually kind of ridiculous how good it turns out! The only change I made was to add some alcohol to the coffe I dipped the lady fingers in. I had rum, so that's what I used,and it turned out quite well. Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was the weirdest runny pudding type thing I've ever seen. I've made it twice, and both times, it was just runny and disgusting. I tried more sugar, and more cheese, and it also seemed to have too much vanilla. I just brushed the lady fingers with coffee as the recipe called for waaaaaay to much .. but still, runny, gross mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This recipe is great! Like other reviewers, I made changes based on the unavailablity of lady fingers in my area, and with the filling amount and process. I used one, store bought angel food cake in place of the lady fingers. I also used a 9X13 pan. Here are the amounts of other ingredients I used: 5 egg yolks 1/3 cup white sugar 3 Tbsp vanilla extract 16 oz Marscarpone cheese 1 angel food cake 1 cup strongly brewed instant coffee 1.5 Tbsp cocoa powder I placed slices of angel food cake in the pan, then spooned 2 teaspoons of coffee per piece over the bottom layer rather than dipping. Then I put a layer of filling, and then a layer of cake, this time with 3 teaspoons per piece. It worked out wonderfully and was not soggy at all. As a former health inspector, I was concerned about using raw eggs, but there's enough sugar in the mix to not allow bacterial growth. I also made sure to promptly refrigerate any remaining cake. I especially love this recipe because I wanted tiramisu without the alcohol. I will definetly make this again. I may substitute the marscarpone with neufchatel cheese, as I wouldn't mind it tasting a bit like cheesecake, and it would make it less expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
my very first time elaborating tiramisu. it´s really easy although i've followed some of the reviews suggestions, such as double the filling amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
first i changed the servings to yeild 11 servings. this made enough cream for my 8x11 baking dish. I used enough lady fingers to fill the dish. (appx 30?). i followed the recipe exactly with all the ingredients, but i also added a secret ingredient to the mascarpone mixture. i used a pint of heavy whipping cream, beat it seperately to make my own whipped cream and folded it into the mascarpone mix together with allt he other ingredients. this will make the consistency of the cream JUST RIGHT (so its never runny) without changing the taste. then, to solve your problems of the lady fingers breaking.... use VERY COLD coffee. i buy a large cup of black coffee WITH 2 SUGARS IN IT and refrigerate it for a few hours. then i dunk the lady fingers very quick on both sides but give them no time to soak. i serve the next day. IN-FREAKING-CREDIBLE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
At first I soaked the ladyfingers in the coffee and it broke on me. So I decided to just use a pastry brush instead. I was so afraid of getting it too mushy so I ended up not putting enough coffee. Next time I will probably use stronger coffee. Otherwise, very easy to make and really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
This was so yummy - and SO easy to make! I followed the directions exactly, but I did add about 1/4 cup of Kahlua to the coffee for a little added flavour. It was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I made this for my girlfriend, its her favorite dessert, and she just loved it! Its better to brush the ladyfingers with a pastry brush so it doesn’t become runny! Easy, fast and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Really enjoyed this. I found that when i dipped the ladyfingers into the coffee they would break though. I added some shredded dark chocoltae ontop of the pudding at the end aswell as the cocoa powder and that tasted really fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This was really good, not restaurant quality, but close enough. It's much better the next day after the flavors have settled into the ladyfingers. I added a little coffee liquor to the coffee before soaking the lady fingers and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States