Easy Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
ok... first i must say that real texas chili does not have beans.......not bad for a starter.... but i made these changes.... i used extra lean chili meat instead of ground beef, 2 cans of rotel tomatoes instead of the tomatoes and the tomato sauce,1 galic clove chopped instead of garlic powder, 2 teaspoons of cumin powder, 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper and 1 can of beer.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I'm going to try this in the slow-cooker--has anyone done this yet, and how did it turn out?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was, as billed: easy, delicious and classic. I omitted the chopped chili for the younger members of the family and left it simmering on low for the afternoon and it was delicious. Perfect for a rainy Seattle fall day. Not that it rains here...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellyn Oaksmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Love this chili----Easy recipe ---- Did not add anything----
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I added fresh garlic cloves, and a beer. Simmered for about 4-5 hrs. Best chili i've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Awesome starter chili recipe! I love to use this recipe as a base and then change it up! For example, change out a pound of the ground beef for a pound of ground spicy or sweet italian sausage (without casings) I also love to mix up the type of beans used to give the chili some character. I made this for an event and used one can of butter beans, one can of kidney beans and one can of pinto beans (same sized cans). It was a hit! Don't be afraid to make small changes to this great base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I've never been a fan of chili but this was amazing. I did need to make a few alterations out of necessity. I substituted the jalapenos for 3 hot cherry peppers and only used 3T. of chili powder. This was a great half time meal for my family/guests
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I won't say this is the BEST chili recipe but it certainly is easy to make and requires little effort for a nice end product. I browned my meat and threw everything into the slow cooker while I was making holiday cookies and it was a nice warm treat when I was finished with my baking. This goes great with some cheese and sour cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
My family really enjoyed this chili receipe.I will make it again and again. My husband bought Habernera peppers instead of Jalapeno and was still very yummy. It definately has a bite!!! Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Deatsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
this ain't texas chili! we do not use beans! it may have been made in texas, by a yankee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States