Easy Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is how my husband remembers his mom's chili tasting. We only wanted a small batch, so we cut most ingredients in half (we stayed with 2 lbs of ground beef and 2 jalapenos but only used one can of beans). It was spicy but not overwhelmingly so. We topped it with sour cream, onions and cheese, and it was fantastic; even our 3-year old ate it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaydster
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was very good chili! I am a newlywed and I am trying to gather recipies that will be easy and delicious for me to make. I used less meat and instead of kidney beans I used black beans. I poured the chili in large soup mugs and sprinkled cheese in the middle. I surounded the cheese with Fritos scoops and made it look like a flower. I call it "Chili Flower"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This chili is delicious! I've never made chili before--I'm a kinda new cook. But I used rotel in the place of diced tomatoes and added brown sugar and other spices. MM mm spicy and tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Just threw it together in the crock pot with very few changes. I used fresh garlic, & only 2 cans of beans. Instead of regular pinto beans I used 1 can flavored with slab bacon and 1 can of chili beans. The flavor is already wonderful. Have a feeling this will be amazing come tomorrow. Might need to add more heat then. Might be too thick. *Next day afted on low all night in crockpot. This chili is just right in texture and thickness. Added about 1-1/2 tsp sugar to take away some acidity and added about 1 tsp smoked paprika. This chili is AWESOME!!! Ate it for breakfast cuz I couldn't wait. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cleer Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! It's the best chili recipe I've found yet. However, I substitute the green pepper with a red pepper and I also add a little water (about 1 cup) to it to make it a little less thick. I also rinse the pinto beans before adding them, this makes the flatulence effect more bearable. lol. One more change...I use petite diced tomatoes. That's just a preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Best chili I've had in a long time! It was very good. I recommend adding 2 cloves of fresh garlic. I only used 2 cans of pinto beans to cut down on excess calories. Wonderful chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I added fresh garlic cloves, and a beer. Simmered for about 4-5 hrs. Best chili i've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Excellent recipe. It really is very easy and quick to make. I followed the recipe exactly, and only added little more salt to taste. This is a really great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
My boyfriend and I are living in Japan and had a craving for some chili, so we decided to try this recipe. A friend just sent us some tortilla chips, so we added a cup of sour cream and about half a block of cheddar cheese to make a dip. It was fantastic! We'll have leftovers for ages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmePanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mccleary, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States