Easy Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
LOVE this recipe (& I'm a native texan!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is a good starter recipe. I omitted the peppers and replaced them with crushed white pepper, 2 cloves minced garlic, and also added 2 tbsp butter and 4 tbsp brown sugar. I made enough for about 12 servings, so you may need more if you are making 7 quarts of chili or more. My chili turned out pretty tasty, but if you like it more mild I suggest leaving out the white pepper, and less brown sugar (mainly used it to counter the heat)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
My husband loved this recipe! I added a jar of medium salsa and a can of jalapeno salsa (in the Mexican food section) to spice it up bit more. It was too much for me so I added extra sour cream and cheese, but my husband ate 3 bowls. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is good stuff! I made the following modifications: used only 1/2 of an onion, 1/2 of a green pepper, omitted the beans, and used one 32 oz can each of crushed tomatoes and tomato sauce, and cut the chili powder down to 1/4 cup. I browned the meat, onion, and pepper, then mixed everything up in the slow cooker and let it simmer all day. It was great. I'll be using leftovers tomorrow night to make Frito chili pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
good and easy to make. i used 2 cans of rotel instead of all the tomatoe sauces. very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Good recipe and easy to make! Me and my fiance love spicy food, so I had to add more cayenne and added chili powder. I also added some chopped garlic. Topped it with some cheese, YUMMY. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is how my husband remembers his mom's chili tasting. We only wanted a small batch, so we cut most ingredients in half (we stayed with 2 lbs of ground beef and 2 jalapenos but only used one can of beans). It was spicy but not overwhelmingly so. We topped it with sour cream, onions and cheese, and it was fantastic; even our 3-year old ate it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaydster
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was very good chili! I am a newlywed and I am trying to gather recipies that will be easy and delicious for me to make. I used less meat and instead of kidney beans I used black beans. I poured the chili in large soup mugs and sprinkled cheese in the middle. I surounded the cheese with Fritos scoops and made it look like a flower. I call it "Chili Flower"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This chili is delicious! I've never made chili before--I'm a kinda new cook. But I used rotel in the place of diced tomatoes and added brown sugar and other spices. MM mm spicy and tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States