Easy Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I love this recipe. Quick and easy to alter if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I made this recipe with only two changes and my husband loved it and so did I!!! I used Rotel diced tomatoes with green chili's instead of plain diced tomatoes and I put it in the crockpot for about an hour. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This chili was good. I first made as is, except for the jalapenos, and let simmer, then tasted. I felt like I needed to spice it, so I added some cumin and oregano. It was really good. Will make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I reduced the amount of chili powder in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
The first time I made this I got second place in the office chili cookoff! I'd never made chili before :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This is a good standard chili recipe what would work well for many things! I had to use kidney beans (all I had). Served over baked potatoes, talk about comfort food. Yum! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I was looking for a simple recipe for chili, as I am just learning how to cook. I cannot imagine this recipe tasting any better. People have been calling this a base recipe, but I think it is fine just the way it is. I omitted the jalapenos, and the amount of chili pepper was absolutely perfect. I will be using this recipe again, thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very good starting point! I don't claim to be a chili expert but I know what I like, so in addition to what's on this recipe, here is what I would add or take away. Also, I used a pressure cooker! This time around I didn't put any beans (Yes, I know, I know that beans make it less authentic but I don't care, I generally like it in my chili). I used minced garlic from a jar instead of garlic powder. In addition to the chili powder, I also added paprika, cayenne powder, cumin, ancho chile powder, chipotle chili powder. I added those spices while I was cooking the onions and bell pepper to "wake up" the spices. I also added a 6 ounce can of tomato paste to thicken it, and a can of medium to heavy body beer (don't use something lame like Miller Lite). And to me, here is the most important part: I bought mixed ground meat from the supermarket which consists of beef, pork, and veal as well as a pound of Italian sausage. Again, authenticity is great but trust me, the Italian sausage and mixture of ground meats makes the flavor really tasty as opposed to JUST using ground beef. Also, I used stew beef (beef round chunks) and a pressure cooker: cook for only 20 minutes! Of course, you only start counting once that doohickey starts rocking back and forth from the steam. Phew! That's a lot of changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Fantastic chili! Left out the jalapeno and have tried less chili powder on occasion. Actually won 3 of 4 chili cook-off competitions in last 4 years in my church from this recipe, and I never cooked chili before I tried this recipe! Try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I followed this recipe to the letter right down to the 3 jalapenos. I cooked it on the stove top for an hour. I love spicy food and this is spicy but there is no depth of flavor. Would I recommend it? No. Will I make it again? Probably not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States