Easy Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Awesome starter chili recipe! I love to use this recipe as a base and then change it up! For example, change out a pound of the ground beef for a pound of ground spicy or sweet italian sausage (without casings) I also love to mix up the type of beans used to give the chili some character. I made this for an event and used one can of butter beans, one can of kidney beans and one can of pinto beans (same sized cans). It was a hit! Don't be afraid to make small changes to this great base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Good easy Texas chili! Medium sweat, not too spicy for hubby, not too bland for me (I love spicy!). This turned out a nice tomatoey chili pepper taste. I used dried minced onion, frozen diced green pepper, minced garlic, and diced jalapeno in the jar. I used ranch style beans, semi drained, as it was the closest thing I had to pintos that weren't refried in my pantry. I simmered this 1 hour covered. Very good chili, Roger, Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Delicious and Super Easy -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Yum! I thought the 1/4 cup of chili powder would be too much. I added to taste, and probably added a 1/4 cup after all was said and done. My hubby gobbled this up! Quick, easy, and delicious. Was great with some cheddar and sour cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I love this chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chevygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
this simple recipe is VERY good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Came out watery for some reason. We had to cook it much longer than it calls for. My family is not big on spice, so we left that out.. made this a little bland. Added some worchestire sauce and a little bit of cumin. Once we topped with cheddar and put some saltines on the side, it was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hedder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Sounds super great & I'm going to try it tomorrow, but has anyone tried it in the slow cooker?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This is nothing special, but it is a good starter chili. I had to more chili powder, cumin and sugar to get it to taste anything like chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I've never been a fan of chili but this was amazing. I did need to make a few alterations out of necessity. I substituted the jalapenos for 3 hot cherry peppers and only used 3T. of chili powder. This was a great half time meal for my family/guests
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States