Easy Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is how my husband remembers his mom's chili tasting. We only wanted a small batch, so we cut most ingredients in half (we stayed with 2 lbs of ground beef and 2 jalapenos but only used one can of beans). It was spicy but not overwhelmingly so. We topped it with sour cream, onions and cheese, and it was fantastic; even our 3-year old ate it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaydster
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was very good chili! I am a newlywed and I am trying to gather recipies that will be easy and delicious for me to make. I used less meat and instead of kidney beans I used black beans. I poured the chili in large soup mugs and sprinkled cheese in the middle. I surounded the cheese with Fritos scoops and made it look like a flower. I call it "Chili Flower"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This chili is delicious! I've never made chili before--I'm a kinda new cook. But I used rotel in the place of diced tomatoes and added brown sugar and other spices. MM mm spicy and tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Just threw it together in the crock pot with very few changes. I used fresh garlic, & only 2 cans of beans. Instead of regular pinto beans I used 1 can flavored with slab bacon and 1 can of chili beans. The flavor is already wonderful. Have a feeling this will be amazing come tomorrow. Might need to add more heat then. Might be too thick. *Next day afted on low all night in crockpot. This chili is just right in texture and thickness. Added about 1-1/2 tsp sugar to take away some acidity and added about 1 tsp smoked paprika. This chili is AWESOME!!! Ate it for breakfast cuz I couldn't wait. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cleer Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! It's the best chili recipe I've found yet. However, I substitute the green pepper with a red pepper and I also add a little water (about 1 cup) to it to make it a little less thick. I also rinse the pinto beans before adding them, this makes the flatulence effect more bearable. lol. One more change...I use petite diced tomatoes. That's just a preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Best chili I've had in a long time! It was very good. I recommend adding 2 cloves of fresh garlic. I only used 2 cans of pinto beans to cut down on excess calories. Wonderful chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I added fresh garlic cloves, and a beer. Simmered for about 4-5 hrs. Best chili i've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Excellent recipe. It really is very easy and quick to make. I followed the recipe exactly, and only added little more salt to taste. This is a really great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
My boyfriend and I are living in Japan and had a craving for some chili, so we decided to try this recipe. A friend just sent us some tortilla chips, so we added a cup of sour cream and about half a block of cheddar cheese to make a dip. It was fantastic! We'll have leftovers for ages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmePanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mccleary, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States