Easy Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This chili is so easy and so tasty! My whole family loves it! I change it up every now and then just for something new but it doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Good chili, but not should not be called Texas chili. A real Texan would never, ever put beans in their chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was WAY too spicy. Was it a typo asking for 1/2 cup of chili powder? I didn't even use the jalapeños peppers and no one could eat it. I made it for 10 adults (some love spicy food) and they all agreed that it was way too spicy and that it should have been 3-4 teaspoons of chili powder, not 1/2 cup! ….Niki
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This recipe is great. I have made it twice now and my boyfriend and I loved it both times. It's isn't anything fancy, so some people might want to add to it I suppose. But the flavor is awesome, definitely spicy but that can be adjusted. I didn't have cumin but agree it would be good, I did add paprika and cayenne pepper. I used ground turkey instead of beef. Otherwise didn't change a thing. Easy to make on a weeknight and freezes really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Very good and delicious recipe,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KA-Ranch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
4.5 stars. Very good but not quite amazing. I used diced tomatoes from my garden instead of the canned. I also used 2.5 lbs ground turkey instead of the beef and fresh garlic. Everything else was pretty much as written. USE A VERY LARGE POT. My largest pot is only about 5 qts and I had to transfer some of the chili to another pan because it was overflowing. The leftovers are still simmering on my stove and I will freeze them for later meals (Way cheaper, healthier, and better tasting than canned chili!). Ideas for additions to make it amazing: celery, corn, bacon, cumin, cocoa powder, cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Good, true in Texas there are no beans in the chili but they were sure good in there. I drained and rinsed the beans before I added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Great flavor and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I've made this 3 times now and feel like I owe it a review. I've stayed pretty true to the recipe but have tried a different variety of beans each time I've made it and have settled on these improvements. Those changes being: I use only 2 cans of beans, 1 regular pintos and the other pintos with jalapeños( still trying to get used to beans in my chili). I also use the 3 jalapeños, 2 seeded and deveined and one whole seeds and all. The 2 cans of diced tomatoes, (i use one regular and one mexican blend) I run through a blender and purée them as much as possible otherwise my family picks them out. I've tried not to "change" anything for this recipe, rather just enhance the instructions. It's a great chili recipe and all of my friends now ask me to make it for all the games. Will keep it as my go to recipe from now on. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dannimachile83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
It's ok. A little too tomatoey. Better with cheese, but probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States