Easy Tater Tot Hot Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I started out to make this exactly as written, but I was out of Cream of Chicken soup so I had to sub Cream of Mushroom, low fat. I also was a little short on the tater tots, but in the end I think that was a good thing. The meat kinda browns at this high temp, and the flavor is good. The tater tots kinda get mushy, but the taste is good. I admit that I used a turkey baster to suck out all the grease on the edges. I will make again for a quick supper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This dish needs help. That's where my creative juices came in. I realized this is a simple recipe for me to make and I could make it into a fake Shepard's Pie. I added garlic, more onion, did half a bag of mixed veggies (frozen with green beans, carrots, and corn), an extra can of mushroom soup, mixed cheese and worsteshire sauce. First I did the meat and mixed in the egg, worsteshire, and a can of mushroom soup. I added salt, pepper and garlic to this mix. I put this on the bottom of the casserole dish. Next I mixed the frozen veggies (about half a bag), 1 whole onion, 1 cup of cheese. I put this layer on top of the meat. Next I put on a random amount of tater tots and used a spoon to spread the next can of mushroom soup over them. I dotted them with the soup, because you want it to get soft when it bakes. I took the last bit of cheese (I did a mixed bag of "taco mix" but cheddar or anything would be good) and spread a very thin layer over the tots and soup. The effect is the meat gets lots of flavor without drying up, the veggies get cheesy, and the tots get soft almost like mashed potatoes but with texture. My mix is more hearty, not much more expensive, and feeds a lot or gives good left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onecloudythought

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This is an easy dish that's easy to customize! I mostly stuck to the instructions as my father doesn't eat anything with a lot of "stuff" in it but I did add several tablespoons of queso, and used cream of mushroom instead of cream of chicken, and frozen hash browns instead of tater tots (working with what I had on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Instead of tater tot I used chopped up russet potato that I seasoned in garlic onion salt and pepper. and used alfredo sause instead of cream of chicken... I also added broccoli to it... FAST EASY AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaKat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
this is a awsome recipe..i love it i cooked it and my kids loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I loved this recipe! I did use an extra half can cream of chicken soup and a can of french cut green beans mixed with the beef. Topped with a little hot sauce after, SUPERB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
For the meat, egg & onion mixture, I also threw in some frozen corn, season salt and minced garlic. Cooked the mixture for 40 minutes at 450 degrees. Then added the tater tots and cream of chicken and cooked at 425 degrees for another 20 minutes. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
for those who tweeked this recipe and love cheese.... cook beef and onion mix with 1 can cheddar cheese soup cover with tater tots sprinkle with cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Poplar Branch, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
A easy recipe for a quick filling meal. I added 1/2 packet of Lipton Garlic/Herb seasoning mix and mixed in with the meat, egg mixture. I doubled this recipe and my husband loved it. It would also probably be really good with a sprinkling of grated cheese melted on top for the last 5 or 10 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
My husband isn't the most adventurous eater and this is perfect for him. Hooray for tot-infused comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States