Easy Taco Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I made a few changes to this after reading some of the reviews. I used taco seasoning instead of chili powder, and a can of diced tomatoes with mild chiles, added 1 cup of water and a couple dollops of sour cream to the hamburger mixture. I left the last layer of chips and cheese off and baked it covered for 25 minutes, then I added the cheese and chips and baked it uncovered for 10 minutes. It turned out very good and tasted like nachos. I also chose not to crush the tortilla chips but I think it's just a personal preference. My family loved it and went back for seconds. I'm adding this one to my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I really liked this recipe, you can make changes and adjustments and it turns out delicious. Instead of using mayo, salsa, and chili powder I used a packet of taco seasoning mix to the ground beef ( I used 2 lbs. of ground beef). Then I layered the ground beef, crushed tortilla chips, and I added a layer of refried beans and then the cheeses. I used a foil lined 9 by 13 inch baking dish. I baked it for about 15 minutes and then before serving I topped with sour cream, diced tomato and shredded lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilyana Duran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I have been making this recipe for years! I found it in a Taste of Home Annual Cookbook, 1997 I think. I usually saute onion with my ground beef and add extra salsa as it seems a little dry. It is a favorite with my children! We serve it with sour cream, salsa and additional chips. It is a good, quick and tasty meal. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I really loved this recipe! It was simple and delicious, although I was originally skeptical of the mayo, it blends nicely with the salsa! I added kidney beans to the beef mixture, and as suggested used taco seasoning instead of chilli powder, and this is a definite keeper, and sooooo filling! yum! and thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel k.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I made this for supper tonight and my kids loved it! It was very simple and didn't take much time at all to prepare. I didn't add the mayo, chili powder, or the salsa to the meat. I used taco seasoning and mixed 1-1/12 cups of sour cream to the meat after the seasoning was cooked in as directed on the package and layered but I too did not measure any of the chips or cheese but I did use 2-8oz bags of Colby-Jack cheese. I changed the serving size to 10 just so the ingredients would be a little more accurate because I also used a 9x13 glass cake pan. I cooked mine at 350 degrees for 15-18 minutes (just until the cheese started to brown) and let it set for 5 minutes and cut it into serving size pieces. After I put each piece on the plates, I topped with lettuce, tomato, black olives, sour cream, crushed tortilla chips, and salsa. This is very, very filling and very good! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
We loved this dinner - my kids thought it was like a Nacho Salad....I thought the chips would be soggy, but they weren't. Use the taco seasoning it works well. The kids and I say is delicious an Excellent meal (very filling)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Wow - This was delicious!! While browning the meat I added onion powder. I was unsure if I should use real mayo or Miracle Whip, I chose to use real mayo and I am glad I did! I added an extra 1/2 cup of salsa (total 1 and 1/2 cups) and a package of taco seasoning to the meat mixture. (I used the taco season and still added the chili powder, mayo and salsa.) I served this with spanish rice and refried beans. My husband and both of my VERY PICKY kids liked this. Taco Casserole will be a regular in our house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLELADYJONES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Primghar, Iowa, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I omit the mayonnaise and add instead a cup of sour cream. I also add chili beans and a packet of taco seasoning instead of the chili powder. I like adding sliced green onions too before I cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Good basic recipes. I did dress it up with extra salsa, sourcream, olives and onions on top and it was great. Wish I had some left over. Next time I'll add black beans to the bottom layers. Guests commented that it was like a warm 7-layer bean dip. Overall response was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I must say for such simple ingredients this was very good. Don't expect some spicy,gourmet dish. This is just basic food that my whole family loved. Like a taco you could eat with a fork. I used mayo, not salad dressing. I also used a chili seasoning combination product instead of just plain chili powder. I had some black olives on the side as not everyone likes those. It is truly comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States