Easy Taco Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
When I make this casserole, I use sour cream instead of mayonnaise and crushed Nacho Cheese Doritos. If you don't have the individual spices, taco seasoning works out great. I like to serve this with little bowls of chopped sides, like tomatoes, black olives, shredded lettuce, homemade salsa........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I replaced the mayo with 1/2 cup plain nonfat Greek yogurt; the chili power and cumin with canned taco seasoning, taco sauce for the salsa, 1/2 pound ground beef in place of a pound, and used a mix of shredded "Mexican" cheese. Slightly sauteed the onion when the beef was almost done, and added a can of nonfat refried beans to the sauce mixture. We ate with diced tomatoes, shredded lettuce and sliced jalapeños on top. It was yummy and pretty healthy (tortilla chips aside). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Made this for dinner last night and it was quite yummy! Used sour cream instead of mayo, and cayenne pepper in place of the cumin and chili powder. Pretty spicy but yummy and quick to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Easy Taco Casserole Haiku: "Totally easy. Swapped sour cream for mayo. Served with lots of 'stuff.'" I don't think I wouldn't liked this nearly as much w/ mayo, so I used sour cream, along w/ a Mexi-blend of cheese, rather than the 2 different types called for. One bite of it by itself was "mmm tasty", but eating w/ cilantro, tomatoes, lettuce, and extra hot sauce? Taco-transcendent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I thought I would try this recipe since it seemed an easy weeknight dinner. I followed the original recipe only adding sour cream on the side when served. My husband LOVED it! I enjoyed it as well and our 20 month old son gobbled it up! Definitely going to save this one in my 'favorites' folder to make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Husband loved it! I USED mayo; thought it gave extra flavor. No cumin, just chili powder. 1 1/2 lbs ground beef, a 15 oz. jar of mild salsa, cup of diced onion, and BBQ corn chips. It was quick and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This recipe was easy and delicious. Like other reviewers I used about 3 tablespoons of Taco Seasoning I from this site (minus the salt) instead of the chili powder and cumin to give it a little more flavor and heat. I also used a light sour cream instead of mayonnaise and pepper jack cheese for the monterey Jack Cheese. I forgot to cover it in foil and the cheese on top got a little overdone. Next time i will cover it in foil until the last 10 minutes or so. I served it with cornbread and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Made the recipe as written to see if I would have preferred it with sour cream, which I normally used, and I liked the creaminess better with the mayo. Excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I have been making this for many years but always put in a can of whole kernel corn (drained of course) and use tomato sauce and salsa but no sour cream or mayo. It is an easy crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I thought this recipe was great, I used hot Italian sausage meat rather than ground beef. I also used Light Miracle Whip. I have a very fussy bunch in my home, and they all loved it, and want it again. If they request it be repeated then it will never rate less than 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States