Easy Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Just made this for dinner tonight. Everyone loved it. I substituted the small sweet red, yellow, and orange peppers instead of the green peppers. The girls like those better. Also used fresh squeezed Meyer lemons for the lemon juice. The girls said it was better than our local Chinese take out restaurants sweet and sour chicken (which they love). Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tigerlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This was delicious and pretty easy to make! I'm not a great cook, but this recipe was very easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I'm so surprised at how this turned out. I had family visiting over the weekend and decided to try out this recipe. I followed it to the letter. I did add carrots to the dish but that's it. Everyone enjoyed it including my husband who doesn't like ketchup or "sweet meats", as he says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Easy and super tastes!!!!!!!!!! I used fresh lime juice, for I had limes to use up. Madder a bag of stir fry vegetables and only 1 green pepper;) would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This was delicious. It was exactly what I was craving and the recipe ingredients were all things I had on hand. It tasted good as is but I'll probably use a little less ketchup next time. Also, I threw in a little less than a table spoon of bread crumbs to thicken up the sauce since I only used pineapple juice, not crushed pineapple. One other variation I used was to cut the chicken breast at a 45° angle to make slices instead of cubes so the chicken would cook a little faster. For sure will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This is the first review I have yet to post. This recipe is amazing. I am eating it as I am writing this. I chose to use pineapple chunks and Im glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeaninekramer
Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Used this for my first time ever making sweet and sour chicken, and it turned out awesome and was super easy to follow. I will for sure be making this again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
wow the chicken is so good , i was really suprised. I would like to consider myself someone who cooks alot and its the best chicken ive made so far. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I don't normally like sweet and sour chicken, but this was awesome. Very flavorful indeed. I added fresh ginger and I think that extra kick really did it for me. I played around with ingredients since I'm on a paleo diet, and due to personal preferences. First, I omitted flour, obviously, so I didn't batter the chicken pieces. 2 fresh lemons gave me 1/2 cup lemon juice, but you might want a 3rd handy just in case. Instead of brown sugar, I used just under 1/3 cup of raw cane sugar plus a tiny bit of blackstrap molasses, maybe a teaspoon. Next time I'll serve this as soon as I add the sauce (which had already been simmering by itself while I cooked the meat) because I don't want to overcook the green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Used pineapple chunks instead of crished. Didn't have any lemon juice so I used vinegar for the sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeoville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States