Easy Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Easy to make and tastes WONDERFUL. I made a few changes, only out of necessity. With changes or not, your family will love this dish. I used fresh pineapple instead of canned crushed. I added some water with a bit extra sugar since I didn't have the syrup from the canned pineapple. Also, I cut the pineapple into chunks. I prefer chunky pineapple in my sauce. Of course, I couldn't whisk the mixture, but stirring worked fine too. I had planned to take a photo to post, but my family devoured it before I could. Also, I didn't dice the green pepper. I cut it (and the celery) into julienne strips. The times are pretty much right on target. You can make this dinner in under 30 minutes and your family will think you worked really hard!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This was spectacular! I used a red onion and instead of lemon juice I used apple cider vinegar...a little less than half a cup. I used red peppers instead of green peppers and we loved this! I served it with Jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I'm the first to comment on this dish and i must say it is to die for! All that i expected and more. All the flavors just pop out at you and its just so flavorful. The only thing i added to it that the recipe didn't have was some sesame seeds and i only used 1 bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I'm a freshman in college and don't have much experience with cooking, however I saw all of the great reviews and decided to go ahead and give it a go. It was delicious! I was so pleasantly surprised that I was able to pull it off! My mother, sister, and stepdad all said it was just as good as from a Chinese restaurant. The only difference between the two is that at the place we get take-out from, they fry the chicken (like a tempura batter). However, this is a healthier alternative to the fried chicken, and just as delicious. I chose to make this with red peppers rather than green peppers, and I also used a sweet onion rather than a regular onion. I served it over white rice, for which I just purchased the cheap frozen kind. My mom asked me to make this again one night for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This was really good and very easy to make. My boyfriend loved it! The ketchup freaked me out a little, so I didn't put the whole amount and I probably should have. Still came out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Best and easiest sweet and sour chicken I have tried on this site! I made a few changes out of neccesity, using a can of cubed pineapple with about half of the syrup and snow peas instead of the celery and gr. peppers. It was AWESOME! Tonight I will make again using the exact recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This was soooo good. I am still salivating. Easy ingredients. I used fresh pineapple and mashed up with a potato masher. I might use a little less ketchup--maybe add AFTER everything else in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Just made this for dinner tonight. Everyone loved it. I substituted the small sweet red, yellow, and orange peppers instead of the green peppers. The girls like those better. Also used fresh squeezed Meyer lemons for the lemon juice. The girls said it was better than our local Chinese take out restaurants sweet and sour chicken (which they love). Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tigerlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Took a long time to make. I did not car for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This recipe was amazing! The sauce is just so good. I substituted the green peppers for red peppers as another reviewer suggested and I feel like with the sweet pineapple taste, red would better than green. I also did not have brown sugar and used regular sugar instead but a little less than in the recipe, worked just fine. I have to say, over a little bit of rice, this recipe is yummmmmmy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Easy Grilled Chicken Teriyaki

Tender and juicy grilled teriyaki chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States