Easy Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I'm a freshman in college and don't have much experience with cooking, however I saw all of the great reviews and decided to go ahead and give it a go. It was delicious! I was so pleasantly surprised that I was able to pull it off! My mother, sister, and stepdad all said it was just as good as from a Chinese restaurant. The only difference between the two is that at the place we get take-out from, they fry the chicken (like a tempura batter). However, this is a healthier alternative to the fried chicken, and just as delicious. I chose to make this with red peppers rather than green peppers, and I also used a sweet onion rather than a regular onion. I served it over white rice, for which I just purchased the cheap frozen kind. My mom asked me to make this again one night for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jasmine
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Tried this just for a change....and well kind of wish I didn't. Let's just say I had my doubts when cooking it....and while it wasn't bad....as my boyfriend said "I'll eat it, but I won't ask for it" XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
It was much too sour.I really didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This recipe was awesome! I'm a terrible cook but this was really easy and delicious. if you've ever had a sweet & sour chicken Lean Cuisine, that's pretty much exactly what this is like if you plate it on a bed of steamed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was good, not wonderful. My boyfriend liked it, but said the chicken needed more seasoning and I have to agree, but that's an easy fix. The sauce was nice, loads better than pre-packaged sweet and sour. I served it over steamed white rice and it made for a very pretty presentation. Might make it again if I have the ingredients on hand, but I wouldn't go out of may way to buy them. Heated up great next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Just made this for dinner tonight. Everyone loved it. I substituted the small sweet red, yellow, and orange peppers instead of the green peppers. The girls like those better. Also used fresh squeezed Meyer lemons for the lemon juice. The girls said it was better than our local Chinese take out restaurants sweet and sour chicken (which they love). Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tigerlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This was delicious and pretty easy to make! I'm not a great cook, but this recipe was very easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I'm so surprised at how this turned out. I had family visiting over the weekend and decided to try out this recipe. I followed it to the letter. I did add carrots to the dish but that's it. Everyone enjoyed it including my husband who doesn't like ketchup or "sweet meats", as he says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Easy and super tastes!!!!!!!!!! I used fresh lime juice, for I had limes to use up. Madder a bag of stir fry vegetables and only 1 green pepper;) would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This was delicious. It was exactly what I was craving and the recipe ingredients were all things I had on hand. It tasted good as is but I'll probably use a little less ketchup next time. Also, I threw in a little less than a table spoon of bread crumbs to thicken up the sauce since I only used pineapple juice, not crushed pineapple. One other variation I used was to cut the chicken breast at a 45° angle to make slices instead of cubes so the chicken would cook a little faster. For sure will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States