Easy Sweet Potatoes with Kahlua Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I used regular coffee instead of kahlua. I also doubled the nuts and raisins because I didn't think there were enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Gave this recipe to my husband who loves to cook, they were the best sweet potatoes.. love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I just made this! i didnt use raisins or any nuts but it was delicious! my favorite sweet potatoes before this was mashed with a ton of streusal on top. sometimes that got way too sweet so this recipe is perfect! just sweet enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlyrs2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Good, but too much for weeknight dinner. I'll definately use it on a special ocassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LostinSouthBama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Dauphin Island, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
You don't need to add much liqueur, too much would certainly over-do it. I made this with 4 very large sweet potatoes, 1 stick of salted butter, all the brown sugar called for and a little more than 3 tablespoons of Kahlua. Very rich, very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I made these without the raisins or Kahlua and they were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Very Good, I thought that the Kahlua taste may have been slightly overwhelming (even though i love kahlua), but no one else did. I made these for the first time for Thanksgiving dinner and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Delicious! I took others advice and added kahlua slowly so I didn't use as much as the recipe called for. I also didn't have nuts, so I made it without and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
We all enjoy Kahlua, so I was very excited to try this for Christmas dinner. The Kahlua killed it and was not at all complementary in taste with the sweet potatoes. The flavors simply did not blend well together at all. This may have tasted better with less Kahlua used as an accent flavor to the sweet potatoes, but the recipe as written creates a clash of flavors each attempting to claim the dish. If making this recipe, I would suggest adding the Kahlua in small doses a little at a time until a nice flavor has been reached. This was the only dish that everyone turned down when it was time to pack left-overs and send them home with my guests. Sorry......but this recipe should state to add the Kahlua until the desired taste is achieved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I screwed up... this is my first time making candied veggies and I didn't read close enough. So I put the sugar, etc. in while the potatoes were still in the pan. Since they didn't candy, I just mashed them. They were still a big hit. I do agree that the next time I'll cut down on the amount of kahlua. It was good, but 1/2 to 2/3 as much should work out fine for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States